You are 1 of 11 Active ASP.NET Visitors
 
 
  ASP.NET Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Share on Facebook Tweet this! Share on Google+ Share on LinkedIn Add to Del.icio.us   Add to StumbleUpon eee
 


 
Resource Menu
 InstantKB.NET 2011  [Demo]  Cost: Free Trial/$199/$489/$839 USDVersion 2011-2
26
Reviews
5
Favor-It
Incredibly flexible, AJAX enabled, ASP.NET & SQL Server knowledgebase & ticketing system. Capture, organize, control all the knowledge important to you or customers.Manage inbound support with integrated ticketing, workflows, custom fields, SLAs & rules. Code: ASP.NET v2.0 & VB

Sponsor



User Reviews   
   Authentic (17)  Anonymous (9) 




      
Overall Rating:
Codango PHP, ASP .NET, JSP Scripts, Resources, Reviews
Click to Read Reviews
User
Rated
    
Complete and well supported Knowledge Base    
Written by Randall Smith from South Carolina   (Wednesday, August 26, 2009)
Writer is with: http://www.ultimatewindowssecurity.com
Strengths:   well integrated with ASP.Net  
Weaknesses:   looking forward to integration with InstantForum  
Details:   I have 2 installations of InstantKB and InstantForum. One with a lot of customization for my www.ultimatewindowssecurity.com site. Very happy with responsive customer service. Easy to keep up with new posts and good use of ASP.net features like authentication, etc. Very happy in general and look forward to continued use.
Review Based On:   12 Month(s) of usage  

The BEST support I ever worked with!    
Written by Anonymous User (#1393-186) from Kansas   (Thursday, September 17, 2009)
Strengths:   Support, ability to customize system, system flexibility  
Weaknesses:   Lack of documentation  
Details:   InstantKB is the best system I found for security, workflow, and customization - which allowed for a lot of flexibility. What their system lacked in documentation (being developed though) they made up for in customer service. I really liked their pricing model, which was one of the few KB's I found that didn't make me purchase per user seat, which is very limiting.
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  

Great KB, Great Price!    
Written by Tom Phelan from New Jersey   (Wednesday, July 22, 2009)
Writer is with: http://www.peddie.org/
Strengths:   Highly configuarable, Visually very appealing, AD Integration Option, Inexpensive, RSS Feeds  
Weaknesses:   Documentation could be better.  
Details:   I am a long time InstantKB user (2005) who just upgraded to 2.0. First, everything written negatively about the grotesque delays regarding version 2.0 is true. That said, to be fair to InstantASP, InstantKB 1.3 was a very nice product, it just lacked some important features. While waiting for 2.0, I reviewed more KB solutions than I can count and nothing comes close to InstantKB regarding the quality/price ratio. After resisting upgrading from 1.3 to 2.0 for almost a year, I decided to give InstantKB another chance because I couldn't find anything else. InstantKB 2.0 retains all the great features I liked in 1.3 including very attractive design (very important for a KB IMHO), RSS feeds, good search, comment management, etc. Two features I found most lacking in 1.3 were Active Directory integration and granular security. InstantKB 2.0 provides AD integration as an option with a number of different ways to implement it. The security is now much more granular allowing me to delegate management the way I want. Another nice addition to 2.0 is the ability to Tag articles which makes it much easier for users to quickly find what they want using a Delicious-like tag cloud. In general, 2.0 is more configurable across the board. While InstantASP did a poor job of projecting development time for 2.0, the bottom line for me is that InstantKB 2.0 is a great product at an unbeatable price. If you are looking for a KB, InstantKB 2.0 is definitely worth a look. Lastly, I read some complaints about others having problems installing InstantKB. I've never had a problem after several installs and upgrades. Even if you have no experience with SQL or ASP web applications, the step-by-step instructions for doing this are easy to follow and should not take more than 30 minutes to get up and running.
Review Based On:   60 Month(s) of usage  

No new version... Still...    
Written by Anonymous User (#1555-215) from Minneapolis, MN   (Sunday, February 17, 2008)
Strengths:   Inexpensive, simple  
Weaknesses:   Slow initially, only 2 levels of security (and separate accounts)  
Details:   It is February 17, 2008, and still version 2.0 isn't production ready. This is many years over due, after many promises that a new version would soon be available. There is an administrative and end-user (separate tables). There really needs to be a single user table with security access options for finer granularity (so not everyone has to be administrator to post content). Intuitive interface and easy to post and lookup content (although it is starting to look aged). When the Application Pool refreshes for the website hosting the InstantKB, it takes a long time for the website to become available to the visitor. After that, it is quite quick. Source code (VB.NET) option available - a big plus for the right circumstances. Support for us via their website has been good (responsive and helpful). Recommend this option over direct email.
Review Based On:   24 Month(s) of usage  

new version long-delayed    
Written by Anonymous User (#1988-380) from Midwest, USA   (Friday, March 02, 2007)
Strengths:   Professional look, ASP/SQL basis  
Weaknesses:   not integrated with their forum, not in .NET 2.0  
Details:   We have experienced InstantASP's long delays in getting out the new product. The forums and the KB are not integrated, so they are essentially two seperate products. Most troubling for us were the promises of the new version since 2005 and the failure to deliver, as of March 2007.
Review Based On:   using demo only  

New version never released    
Written by Anonymous User (#1734-301) from USA   (Friday, February 16, 2007)
Strengths:   lots of features  
Weaknesses:   poor security, slow load times  
Details:   InstantKB has missed its release date by over a year.. In April 2005 there were forum posts mentioning a new version in the works. The new version was supposed to be out by September 2005, and as of February 2007, still has no new expected release date. Don't invest in InstantKB as it is not supported.
Review Based On:   18 Month(s) of usage  

Glance at their own support forums    
Written by Anonymous User (#1460-193) from Greenville, SC   (Tuesday, August 22, 2006)
Strengths:   The demo looks good  
Weaknesses:   Suspect support  
Details:   A quick visit to their forums (on their own website) makes for an interesting read. If you can stomach what you find there and still decide to buy, I wish you the best of luck. Doesn't run on 2.0 framework. In April 2005, the 2.0 release was announced for September 2005 and is now nearly a year late. Periodically a company representative will respond to requests for status update, promising a release in the next couple of weeks, only to go silent for a couple of months.
Review Based On:   using demo only  

Superb product    
Written by Anonymous User (#1595-257) from London, UK   (Friday, October 21, 2005)
Strengths:   Ease of use and implementation, intuitive for end-users, flexibility, support  
Weaknesses:   Does not yet support multi-language content  
Details:   A while ago I reviewed a number of knowledgebase solutions with a view to implementing a solution for our 100,000 end users. Nothing came close to InstantKB - even the solutions that cost thousands and thousands of dollars. The vendor support was excellent, both for assistance with the development of new features, site integration, and technical help. If you need a knowledgebase solution for your company or customers, I'd recommend without hesitation InstantKB. The bottom line is we now have a very powerful end-user knowledgebase, visited by about 200 users each day, and with the feedback we get from the visitors, we know it's saving us money. All we had to do was make sure our content was good.
Review Based On:   18 Month(s) of usage  

Worst Company Ever    
Written by Anonymous User (#1418-43)  (Friday, February 11, 2005)
Strengths:   Full .Net Codebase  
Weaknesses:   NOT fully brandable, and extremely week company support  
Details:   I had the worse experiance with this product. Right from the bat the product did not install correctly, it would duplicate interface screens in IE and not in Firefox. I submitted several support requests to the company's support email and NEVER received any type of response beyond the auto-mailer. I eventually decided to request a refund, which they supposidly allow within 30 days, they never responded to that, not even the "request refund" link worked in their customer website. To this day I have neither received ANY post sales support, gotten the program to work properly, or received any contact from the vendor. I am currently seeking an inquery with the board of corporations within the united kingdom. Also they say the product is brandable, but they DO NOT allow you to change the page footers, and they provide almost no documentation as to which style sheets..etc modify which page content.
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   I suspect this is from TimineriConsulting? We have attempted to contact you several times but with no success or response. You purchased on 3 Feb 2005 and we issued a full refund based on your emails on the 21 Feb 2005. Although we confirmed this via email again we received no response from you. You have been refunded for your order. We can only apologize things did not work out. Please be assured we did respond to all your enquires but did not receive any response from you. This is when we became a little concerned. The copyright notice within our product footer. Please see the following knowledge base article http://kb.instantasp.co.uk/article.aspx?id=10063&query=copyright - this has not changed or been updated since 2003. Also if you are not receiving any email response please use the ticketing system within My.InstantASP. It could be your ISP has our email filtered or similar at your end.




      More Pages:  1  |  2  |  3   Next >>  
 
Aspose Components

Sponsor
 

 

 

 
   
  Link to Us  |  About Us   Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!
Web site monitoring by Web Site Monitor - for Android

2014 InfoVertica, LLC, All Rights Reserved *