You are 1 of 10 Active ASP.NET Visitors
 
 
  ASP.NET Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Share on Facebook Tweet this! Share on Google+ Share on LinkedIn Add to Del.icio.us   Add to StumbleUpon eee
 


 
Resource Menu
 BugTracker.NET Cost: FreeVersion 2.8.7
11
Reviews
3
Favor-It
A web-based bug tracker written using ASP.NET and C#. This version requires SQL Server or MSDE. Easy to install and learn how to use. Probably has all the features you want. Somewhat configurable. Codebase is easy to work with. Code: ASP.NET v1.0 & C#

Sponsor



User Reviews   
   Authentic (3)  Anonymous (8) 




      
Overall Rating:
Codango PHP, ASP .NET, JSP Scripts, Resources, Reviews
Click to Read Reviews
User
Rated
    
Great tool for small and medium sized teams    
Written by Anonymous User (#1485-181) from Finland, EU   (Friday, April 29, 2011)
Strengths:   works in minutes, it's open source, uses industry std database  
Weaknesses:   better support for milestones, lack of task/item hierachy in the UI  
Details:   It has almost all you need manage multi-person, multiproject software development with categories, priorities, statuses and workflows defined by your company. And by today, at the of april 2011 new code-behind developments has taken place; probably the most complex page of Bugtracker.net; the edit_bug.aspx has been refactored by open source community into a code-behind version (Note: currently this mod is only available as a support-section code. It is not yet part of the official codebase), so it is now quite trivial to modify it and continue these code structure transformations with easier pages by following the example.
Review Based On:   12 Month(s) of usage  

Great tool.    
Written by Anonymous User (#1344-107) from spain   (Monday, March 09, 2009)
Strengths:   Easy to install, configure. It is intuitive and have a clean UI.  
Weaknesses:   None  
Details:   I was looking for a free tool to track bugs. After a couple of proofs, i decided to put into production this tool. The results are great. All my testers starts to use it after a little practize. Al my coders can found the bugs easy. I can configure it in a short time. I don't know (and i don't want to know) how its coded, but it works fine, i can't found majors bugs and he brings me all i need to trace bugs. I think is a great tool.
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  

Users like it    
Written by Andrew Hawken from London, UK   (Friday, October 17, 2008)
Writer is with: http://exhale.co.uk
Strengths:   Easy to use and configure  
Weaknesses:   Old fashioned coding style  
Details:   I like this, because it does what my clients expect, after a really quick setup. I turn up, say "what do you use to track bugs", they say "nothing", I install, it, then spend an hour figuring out with the client what we want out of it, and customizing as we go. The coding behind it is old fashioned trad ASP like (slightly scarey), but that does mean it is susceptible to quick tweaks if required. However, as others have said, its not a good basis for a brand new project. I've also found the author responds quickly to queries - a major plus when modifying a work of this magnitude.
Review Based On:   48 Month(s) of usage  

It is good as a tool; no good as open source    
Written by Anonymous User (#1441-264) from USA   (Wednesday, March 19, 2008)
Strengths:   Easy to install and use. Clean UI.  
Weaknesses:   It's hard to configure and extend.  
Details:   If you need a tool for tracking bugs, you will be amazed by this tool's capabilities. If you want to customize it or write code to extend it, you will be amazed by how difficult it is. Anyway, I like the tool. As a developer, I just hope I can easily modify it the way I want. I am thinking about using the tool's UI concepts, which came from FogBugz, and write my own ...
Review Based On:   24 Month(s) of usage  

Normal for Issue tracking in small company    
Written by Anonymous User (#1532-236) from Ukraine   (Friday, October 19, 2007)
Strengths:   Simple and clear interface, quick to install  
Weaknesses:   Codes are horrible  
Details:   It is writed in horrible way. But work normally. Yes, there are some bugs. But who can say that another tools don't have? Even in this horrible codes i was able to tune it up a little during few hours and it work normally till now. But if you need a skinning and real design tuning then it is not your choise.
Review Based On:   6 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   Regarding skinning, here is some documentation on how to change BugTracker.NET's appearance: http://www.ifdefined.com/doc_bug_tracker_css.html

Coding horror    
Written by Anonymous User (#1277-81) from austria   (Sunday, June 03, 2007)
Strengths:   none  
Weaknesses:   architecture, coding styles, coding like VB asp, bugs(!), no layers  
Details:   Installation and code review
Review Based On:   using demo only  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   For folks reading these reviews, do keep in mind there is a difference between how the BugTracker.NET *works* for actual users versus how the app looks to coders who are interested in using the code as the starting point for their own projects. If you are interested in actually using the application, here is what other folks have said: http://www.ifdefined.com/bugtrackernet_others_say.html If you are interested in using my code as a starting point for your ASP.NET 2.0 project using the latest techniques, you will be disappointed like many of the folks here are. I started developing BugTracker.NET back in 2002 using just the .NET SDK and a text editor. I didn't own Visual Studio at that time. Even now, you don't need Visual Studio to work on the code. Just a text editor.

horrible    
Written by Anonymous User (#1560-148)  (Wednesday, October 11, 2006)
Strengths:   it works  
Weaknesses:   horrific html coding, incorrect use of CSS, awkward to skin  
Details:   I've been skinning this for use within our company, and I have to say the html coding is a mess. the developer rarely uses quotes with attributes (he uses 'class=this' when it should be 'class="this"') its made out of a massive pile of nested tables and then divs inside those. The whole thing is an absolute hideous mess and the interface is terrible.
Review Based On:   3 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   Here is some documentation on how to change BugTracker.NET's appearance: http://www.ifdefined.com/doc_bug_tracker_css.html

Excellent.    
Written by Gern Blandston from Boston   (Thursday, February 23, 2006)
Writer is with: http://kreetech.blogspot.com
Strengths:   Quick setup, configurable, works as advertised  
Weaknesses:   may be difficult to extend the code (no codebehind)  
Details:   Really, just a great job on this app. I had it up and running in minutes. Perfect for a small team to track bugs/issues, etc. I especially like the POP3 integration that gives the ability to submit a bug via email. All email correspondence regarding a bug is tracked in the app. If you are looking for something to extend and are looking for code-behind, I think someone has created such a version on Sourceforge based upon BugTracker.NET. Bottom line: this app does exactly what it advertises.
Review Based On:   2 Day(s) of usage  

I hav enever seen such a bad .net app    
Written by netaspect geheim from Netherlands   (Thursday, October 14, 2004)
Writer is with: http://www.netaspect.nl
Strengths:   no comment  
Weaknesses:   no comment  
Details:   It could just as easily been a classic asp application. Inline coded, no OO, no use of stored procedures or datasets. It even uses dynamically build SQL-statements, which are vulnerable to SQL-injections. There isn’t even a precompiled assembly, it uses include files to inherit a C# file.
Review Based On:   3 Day(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   The code has evolved since 2004 so there is very little use of #includes now. However, the SQL is still dynamic - but that's part of the power and flexibility of the application. I can't explain it in this space here, but if you are using the app, take a look at how the search, queries, custom field, and permissions system all interact. It just couldn't be done with stored procedures while still making it so easy to be customized. It was a conscious design choice/trade-off. The app does have logic logic that protects it from SQL injection attacks. Regaurding the pre-compiled assembly, the app is now fully compatible with Visual Studio, but you don't have to have Visual Studio either to make changes to it. Isn't that a good thing?




      More Pages:  1  |  2   Next >>  
 
Aspose Components

Sponsor
 

 

 

 
   
  Link to Us  |  About Us   Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!
Web site monitoring by Web Site Monitor - for Android

2014 InfoVertica, LLC, All Rights Reserved *