You are 1 of 7 Active ASP.NET Visitors
 
 
  ASP.NET Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Share on Facebook Tweet this! Share on Google+ Share on LinkedIn Add to Del.icio.us   Add to StumbleUpon eee
 


 
Resource Menu
90
Reviews
15
Favor-It
$5.00/Month ASP.NET 4.5 Hosting! Award Winning ASP.NET Hosting Provider: Windows 2012/IIS 8, MVC 4.0, Visual Studio 2012, SQL 2012, LightSwitch, Full Trust, MS WebDeploy and Much More!

Sponsor



User Reviews   
   Authentic (63)  Anonymous (27) 




      
Overall Rating:
Codango PHP, ASP .NET, JSP Scripts, Resources, Reviews
Click to Read Reviews
User
Rated
    
Extremely disappointed to find servers down    
Written by Kathy Slattengren from Seattle, WA   (Thursday, February 14, 2008)
Writer is with: http://www.pricelessparenting.com/
Strengths:   Site set-up went very well  
Weaknesses:   Second outage in a month  
Details:   This is the second time this month that the servers are completely down. There is no update on their emergency page and no phone number to call. They need some way they communicate with us in these situations. They also need to solve this problem for good with redundant servers. I would like to stick with them but only if they improve their customer service and uptime.
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   We are always working on improving our infrastructure. That is why we had to take a scheduled maintenance outage Feb 14th morning in order to light up a second IP connection to our datacenter. We communicated with ALL our customers prior to the scheduled maintenance. The prior outage on Feb 8 was caused by a network configuration error on part of our upstream provider, Savvis. The second IP connection should result in this type of outage never to happen again. DiscountASP.NET is continuously working on improving our infrastructure for our customers.

It was great until today.    
Written by John Sharpe from spokane, wa   (Wednesday, February 06, 2008)
Writer is with: http://comstock-software.com
Strengths:   Good Hosting While it is UP  
Weaknesses:   Its down now.  
Details:   I've been on this service and totally happy until today. Their 'cached' support page is the only way I could find out that I was supposed to email them. With my business email down due to their outage, I could email them from my personal account; but I'm not going to. It doesn't say much for you as a company if your name servers and your own home page are not responding. I googled for 'recommend discountasp.net' and found sites that they host DOWN today: I will be switching as soon as possible.
Review Based On:   3 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   1. We experienced a Network Outage on Feb 6 2008 for approximately 2 hours. We posted what happened in our Community Forum. 2. The outage was caused by our upstream provider, Savvis, who made network configuration changes in error. There was nothing wrong with our servers/system. 3. We maintain an offsite status page at daspstatus.com and we posted regular updates as we found out more information during this outage. 4. Even though we had this outage, well-known pouplar sites like kbalertz.com continue to host with us. 5. Customers are free to host with the provider that makes them most comfortable but every host, no matter how big or small, has issues come up from time to time. These occassional issues are just the nature of the internet and computer business. People can choose to freak out every time and make drastic decisions or stay and grow with a provider that continues to evolve and improve their services.

It goes down very often recently    
Written by Anonymous User (#1786-328) from Florida   (Thursday, February 14, 2008)
Strengths:   Works well when it is up  
Weaknesses:   Goes down too often recently!  
Details:   As you can see from the last review from another user, their whole network is down for 2 hours on Feb. 8th. Today is Feb. 14th. Their whole network is down again. It really doesn't matter much whether its your fault or your up stream provide's fault. When you provide a service and it doesn't work reliably, your customer lose money and you lose customers. It's as simple as that. It has been mentioned that you guys are putting in a second up stream link. Hopefully you can get that going as soon as possible and let this kind of system wide down problem be history.
Review Based On:   24 Month(s) of usage  

Down now for 60 minutes, still no info anywhere    
Written by Anonymous User (#1323-133) from vancouver   (Thursday, February 14, 2008)
Strengths:   no comment  
Weaknesses:   no comment  
Details:   I'm weary of these guys going down....I've been with them 2 years and for the first time, I am going to start looking elsewhere. Its now 12:21 Am PST Feb 14, 2008 and my site...and ALL of discountasp.net is down. Down, down, down. I went to daspstatus.com and guess what? Nothing. Guess the staff are all asleep or playing video games? This is unacceptable. I lost business on Feb 6 due to their lack of redundancy. They can blame Savvis all they want, but its a poor excuse. If they had redundancy, then the customers would not be paying for it time and time again. It is THEIR FAULT, no matter how much they pin the blame on Savvis, they are the ones to blame. I know they will rebut me, and I predict their rebuttal will (once again) blame someone else, rather than suck up and apologize for their poor network design that continues to tolerate outages like this. Well I will not tolerate them. Either this company takes seriously their responsibility to keep their customer's websites running, or they can become another bad web host. Discountasp.net needs a redundant backbone....I'll give them about 30 days (or another outage)...and I'm done.
Review Based On:   using demo only  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   Of course we are going to rebut. Yes, there was a network outage in the evening of Februrary 13th. This was a scheduled maintenance outage. We sent an email to ALL our customers a week ago to inform them of the scheduled maintenance. We posted in our Forum (http://community.discountasp.net/default.aspx?f=31&m=22609) and in the Control Panel. Our staff was not asleep. They were working on upgrading our infrastructure to introduce another IP connection and upgrade the security infrastructure. This work was done to give our customers the redundancy this poster is complaining about. It's a free market so the poster can take our rebuttal however they wish but we write the truth. We needed to take the outage to give our customers redundancy.

The worst host    
Written by Anonymous User (#1269-153) from RF   (Tuesday, January 29, 2008)
Strengths:   control panel  
Weaknesses:   all but control panel  
Details:   These guys have a good control panel, but their service it terrible. Servers are slow, support is helpless. Yes, they have good marketing and sales team, but once they have you as a customer they do not care. The service is like GoDaddy, that means "no service" and overloaded servers. DiscountASP you have lots of customers, concentrate on support, not only on sales!
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   I'm not sure what issue this customer is referring to. There is no detail provided here. While this customer apparently had some issues, we have won the Best ASP.NET Hosting award from asp.netPRO Magazine for the last 5 years in a row. So our support cannot be as bad as this poster makes it out to be. The poster liked our control panel - that is an example of what we do here - we innovate and we provide tools for developers and provide the most flexible hosting environment for developers.

This guys are scambacks!    
Written by Danko Gulsoy from Charlotte, NC   (Tuesday, July 31, 2007)
Writer is with: http://www.virgous.com
Strengths:   Affordable service  
Weaknesses:   lack of phone support, lack of customer service, frequently service interruptions  
Details:   They have very affordable service charges. I own a software development company-therefore I used to refer my clients to sign up with discountasp.net. Last year-I opened another account with this company, and I purchased the domain through them. Before end of the 1 year period, I cancelled the hoisting account with them. I just wanted to use them as a DNS registrar. I assumed that since they sell domains-they need to offer a DNS services even though you don’t host with them. Like any other company. I went ahead and moved my web files and database content to different server. I used their DNS tools to make the change. End of the billing cycle-I realized that not just they cut off my service but also DNS service. So, here I was not being able receive any emails or not being able to go to web site. I was furious. I tried to find their phone number to make a quick fix. There was no phone numbers listed with this company nor their customer service responded and let me know they don’t have a phone service in order to keep service charges low. They made me sign up with them again. Charged me $30 for 3 months of hosting. For which hosting??? I am not hosting anything with their company. Moreover, I have been receiving threat emails from them that if I don’t pay $30 more dollars-they will discontinue my service again. I have been tryting to explain to them-just unlock my domain name and give me the authorization code. I don’t want to keep any relation with you. So far-it has been 10 days-we have been communicating! via email. Still we have no resolution. Does anyone know their phone number? I really would like to talk to their president. Because he/she needs to know the customer service is not doing their job. In this business reputation is everything. You my friend-have nothing to say.
Review Based On:   using demo only  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   1. We are not a domain registar like godaddy, register.com...etc. We are a reseller of OpenSRS. We do not offer domain parking services like they do. No where on our site do we mention that we offer domain parking. 2. If the customer signs up for hosting and chooses not to use their hosting account, we will still charge for the hosting fee. Just like if you rent an apartment and choose not to move in, you still owe the rent. 3. We have answered every email response with accurate information and in a timely fashion. The customer continues to reply to their open ticket before we respond - which pushes the ticket back to the end of the queue, thus delaying response. 4. We do not provide phone support. No where on the site do we state that we offer phone support. 5. The customer is confusing the hosting fees with the domain fees. The hosting fees are settled. The customer now only needs to settle the domain renewal fees to resolve this matter.

Overcoming a DDoS Attack    
Written by Bob O from Wake Forest, NC   (Sunday, June 24, 2007)
Strengths:   Customer Service  
Weaknesses:   no comment  
Details:   I want to send out a word of appreciation to the team at DiscountASP.NET. A couple of days ago they were hit with a mammoth DDoS attack which basically shut them down, and consequently my company, for a couple of days. Apparently, it was a worse case scenario. I run my livelihood through my web service and if we’re not up, my employees are sitting around and my customers who use my services are calling me. This type of thing is not a good situation for anyone. DiscountASP.NET was able to come up with an emergency page where they posted information on the attack. This was very important to me as I needed to inform my customers about what was happening. On day 2 of the attack I started to consider my options of switching and started looking around. Some competitors had a list of questions which they advised I ask my provider, so I did. What I did get in response from DiscountASP.NET was a well thought out personal letter addressing all my concerns and answers to all my questions in the detail I needed to make an informed decision. That really impressed me. I’ve submitted tickets and they have always made me feel like and individual and a valued customer. No provider is perfect. All systems will fail at one point or another. The attack exposed some areas of weakness; but DiscountASP.NET rose to the occasion, worked around the clock, got us up and running again, and personally assured me that they are taking steps to ensure this doesn’t happen again, and told me how. What more could I ask for? After shopping around, and asking a lot of questions, I’ve chosen to stay with DiscountASP.NET and am recommending them to others. The hosting is great, the pricing you can’t beat, but most important to me, they offer great customer service. Let he who has ears let them hear: “Exceptional customer service is what keeps customers coming back and spreading the word!”
Review Based On:   12 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   We completely understand if customers investigate hosting alternatives. The DDoS attack caused extended downtime. It is natural to seek alternatives when confidence in a host is shaken. We have implemented a system that can protect us against similar attacks of this magnitude. It is the same system that protects many major news sites and very large ISPs. When the system was implemented, the effects of the attack were negated, so we believe this will be a very effective addition to the group of tools that we employ to counteract the malicious activities that commonly affect large networks. At this point all we can ask is that customers give us the opportunity to regain their confidence in our service. We believe we have always offered superior service, and the difficulties that were raised by this recent attack - and the measures that we took to overcome them - have served to strengthen our network overall, and have actually increased the level of service that we are able to provide.

Was like a dream until...    
Written by chad j from denver   (Friday, June 22, 2007)
Writer is with: http://www.cploansolutions.com
Strengths:   Great config and knowledgebase/support  
Weaknesses:   They appear to be the target of DDOS attacks  
Details:   I've been using them religiously until this past week for 8 clients. Wow, what a difference a few days make. Calls from my customers off the hook with no good reply as to when they may have their web sites back. I checked with the offsite emergency page but posts were infrequent and when things were "starting to get better", DNS was still down. Man, I really hate to have to do it, but, I may have to move elsewhere or at least hedge with another provider at this point...
Review Based On:   36 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   DiscountASP.NET is under a massive dDOS attack yesterday and today which took down our web and email system. We posted when we could in our forum, we emailed all our customers when we could, and we update an offsite emergency status page. We are working with our upstream provider's security team on future prevention measures and on identifying the attack source. We have many customers that are very understanding and continue to support our efforts through this situation and we hope that this customer extends their support to us after 3 years of hosting. What we are facing now is a deliberate, malicious attack that is massive in scale - a scale that most of the security experts that we consulted have never seen. It's unfortunate that there are evil people out there that would initiate such an attack and take down so many innocent businesses and websites.

Everything was great until...    
Written by Anonymous User (#1522-225)  (Friday, June 22, 2007)
Writer is with: http://www.firewalkersolutions.com
Strengths:   Everything until right now. no worries.  
Weaknesses:   right now. no email. no web. seems that they got hit by a ddos.  
Details:   Something is all hosed up over there. No site, no email. interestingly, when i google asp.net I read articles about their successful fending off a ddos attack a while back. Guess this one did not go so good, huh?
Review Based On:   48 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   DiscountASP.NET was under a massive dDOS attack which took down our web and email system. The sheer magnitude of this attack is a first in our 4 years of operating. We are working with our upstream provider's security team on future prevention measures and on identifying the attack source. Our network capacity is many times greater than what is needed for typical operations, and we have measures in place to prevent most DoS attacks from ever being noticed as stated. We have a TippingPoint Intrustion Prevention system that has already thwarted other attacks with no customer impact. However, this particular deliberate, malicious attack was so massive in scale that our connection from the upstream provider was saturated and our TippingPoint couldn't do its job. It's unfortunate that there are evil people out there that would initiate such an attack and deliberately take down so many innocent businesses and websites.




  << Previous  More Pages:  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7   Next >>  
 
Aspose Components

Sponsor
 

 

 

 
  
  Link to Us  |  About Us Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!
Web site monitoring by Web Site Monitor - for Android

2014 InfoVertica, LLC, All Rights Reserved *