You are 1 of 16 Active ASP.NET Visitors
 
 
  ASP.NET Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Add to Del.icio.us  Add to StumbleUpon
 


 
Resource Menu
90
Reviews
15
Favor-It
$5.00/Month ASP.NET 4.5 Hosting! Award Winning ASP.NET Hosting Provider: Windows 2012/IIS 8, MVC 4.0, Visual Studio 2012, SQL 2012, LightSwitch, Full Trust, MS WebDeploy and Much More!

Sponsor



User Reviews   
   Authentic (62)  Anonymous (28) 




      
Overall Rating:
Codango PHP, ASP .NET, JSP Scripts, Resources, Reviews
Click to Read Reviews
User
Rated
    
Full-featured, knowledgable hosts    
Written by Mohammad Ashour from Halifax, Canada   (Thursday, May 31, 2012)
Writer is with: http://www.ashour.ca
Strengths:   Great knowledge of ASP.NET and developer needs  
Weaknesses:   Base package is insufficient for most website and MS SQL database upgrade is relatively pricey  
Details:   DiscountASP.NET knows what ASP.NET developers need. They're up to date, and gave me the latest .NET framework versions (while maintaining older versions for backward compatibility). It was really easy to deploy my site to their servers, change my IIS settings, and hit the ground running from day one. It really felt like I was in control of the production environment just as much as my own development env. Kudos to them for that! My only complaint is that MS SQL database hosting significantly ups the price of the hosting package. You can't really have a website without a database these days, so it felt like a money-grab when I added on MS SQL hosting. Now this could be due to a licensing issue with Microsoft or something else I don't know about, but still I feel that the bargain I got initially was an insufficient package and I had to pay more to get the requirements I need for my site. All in all, great hosting. They know ASP.NET, and what ASP.NET developers need. So even at the higher price point, I was happy to host with Discount. I only left because I switched web dev technologies and no longer needed a .NET host. If you're working with ASP.NET yourself, however, I highly recommend DiscountASP.NET!
Review Based On:   12 Month(s) of usage  

overcharged me, underinformed me    
Written by scott we from atlanta   (Monday, February 13, 2012)
Writer is with: http://dankmountain.com
Strengths:   cheap  
Weaknesses:   integrity, customer service, speed  
Details:   they gladly charged my credit card for re-upping hosting after I'd let my blog lie around for awhile, and THEN they bothered to inform me that my domain name had lapsed. So then when i tried to pony up THAT money ($55), they wanted 120 dollars or something for some 'redemption fee'. I basically paid these people for hosting and never got any hosting. And their customer service is a bunch is simpering, annoying apologists who can't even use your first name when they email you, you are known only as 'Customer'.
Review Based On:   36 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   Hi Scott. We automatically renew domain names, but that renewal fails if we don't have a valid credit card on file for the account. We do our best to contact users when a charge is declined due to an expired card (we don't want anyone's service to be interrupted), but there is only so much we can do. I'm sorry we couldn't contact you to get this resolved. As for the redemption fee, that is imposed by the domain registrar, in our case, OpenSRS. We are a reseller for them, so we only collect that fee, we don't impose it (or profit from it). Every registrar has a similar fee after a domain has been expired for a certain amount of time. In our case, with OpenSRS, the redemption period begins 40 days after domain expiration. In any event, I am sorry that you had a bad experience with the domain expiration, and I'm sorry you were referred to as "Dear Customer." I don't care for that practice myself, so I understand where you're coming from on that point. - mjp

No support for subdomains    
Written by Anonymous User (#1548-209) from Sydney Australia   (Tuesday, January 03, 2012)
Strengths:   cheap  
Weaknesses:   extra work to do simple things, almost false advertising  
Details:   I was looking for a site with multiple subdomains (specifically). Although the website clearly states they support sub-domains, it isn't actually true. What they offer is a work-around to mimic subdomains. You can either create a huge number of URL-rewrites (which makes it look like a subdomain to the user) or you can write code that checks every URL put in and redirect it to the page you want displayed (again a work-around). In my experience as a developer over the years, a subdomain is a unique URL you can point to a folder or web app. If you have 20 different web applications and are expecting to transfer the files over this hosting provider and point your subdomains to each web app, forget it. You will have to combine all your web apps into one and create code to specify which one to display. I found this out AFTER also purchasing the unique IP address. Silly me. If you are looking for something specific with a hosting company, my advice is to make sure they can do what they advertise they can. And, make sure your definition of a service is the same as theirs. I wanted a 'subdomain service' while they only provide a service that mimics subdomains. I don't believe my experience would be everyones, but I do feel misled by their advertising.
Review Based On:   6 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   We do not false advertise. We do support multiple subdomains. This particular situation seems to be one of confused definitions. A subdomain, by definition, is a domain that is part of a larger top-level domain. More specifically, subdomains are third level domains that are used to organize web site content. For example, abc.yoursite.com, order.yoursite.com, products.yoursite.com would all be subdomains of the top level domain name, yoursite.com. Multiple subdomains is something we do offer as stated on our site. It appears this particular customer thinks "multiple subdomains" is hosting multiple top-level domains within one hosting account, but this is NOT the definition of subdomains.

The absolute worst - NO SUPPORT    
Written by Anonymous User (#1546-245) from Orlando, Fl   (Thursday, March 24, 2011)
Strengths:   Price  
Weaknesses:   No Support, Run by Kids, No Management, False advertising  
Details:   I hosted my web sites, sql server and TFS Source Code with discountasp.net since 01/2011. The worst mistake I have ever made in my entire life. Should have done my research first. BBB rates them an F: http://www.la.bbb.org/Business-Report/DiscountASPnet-13204201 Starting on 03/23/2011 when a ticket was opened with support about servers not responding under heavy load. It went entirely downhill. Only way to get a response from folks is to pose in the forum, and when you post a nagative comment, they just delete it. Since I posted 2 negative comments and asking for them to reply (since they did not with 4 other emails), within 2 minutes I got a reply to CANCEL my prepaid account - NO REFUND, and they banned my IP from the forums. They dont care about customers. They make you pay for the year then hang you out to dry. You have no recourse but to post the truth about this company.
Review Based On:   3 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   We replied to customer’s ticket asking for a traceroute & URL to replicate the issue. Instead of giving this info he became angry and insulted our tech support staff. Had he responded with the info, we could have sorted out the issue. We DO NOT delete forum posts. We replied back to his post explaining how we troubleshoot issues (it is not uncommon to request a traceroute & URL). He then posted “You should not have brought this into the forum.", which is odd because he started the forum post. Because this customer stated that he did not want this in the forum, we deleted the post. As for the cancellation of his account, he asked how to cancel and we answered him. With regards to the BBB, a company has to pay the BBB to respond to negative reviews. If a customer does not pay, their grade drops. We would like to note that we have been voted Best ASP.NET hosting by publications such Visual Studio Magazine, DevProConnections, asp.netPRO Magazine, and .NET Developers Journal

Tech Support sucks    
Written by Anonymous User (#1870-388) from Syracuse   (Monday, January 31, 2011)
Strengths:   cheap  
Weaknesses:   don't use this host  
Details:   The church's website was down. DiscountASP has no phone number and they autoclose any support tickets without even looking at them. They run extra code on the back end SQL DBs which makes it very hard to move to another host. So, while the cost is low, I guess the old adage "you get what you pay for" holds true there.
Review Based On:   using demo only  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   While we do not offer phone support, there are many ways to get in touch with us - through helpdesk and email. Our contact info is listed on our website with a link to the support page on every page of our website. It is untrue that we close tickets without looking at them. Please provide a ticket number and we can check for you. I have no idea about any extra code on our sql databases. We provide a SQL backup tool so the customer can make a backup of their SQL db at any time. Migrating sql databases is not trivial - that has nothing to do with us. You are free to complain to Microsoft.

Very stable service this summer    
Written by Michael Hoagland from N/A   (Tuesday, August 11, 2009)
Writer is with: http://www.hoagieland.com
Strengths:   Always up, always responsive  
Weaknesses:   Email time is a little slow  
Details:   I've had services with DiscountASP.NET for about 4 months now. Over the last 4 months my web site has been up consistently. I always receive my weekly site usage reports on time and email and database functionality/connectivity is always good. There is a slight delay when sending/receiving email on their servers but nothing I would call a hindrance. However, I'm a picky power user who enjoys instantaneous access to things. When I was setting up my account, I contacted support with several issues and they always responded promptly and my site was set up without a headache. It should be said the issues I was contacting support about were not run of the mill issues. I was inquiring into things like an encrypted database connection from my web apps on their hosting server to their database server, for example. Which, unfortunately they don't support that and hopefully they will soon. I've used several hosts before such as 1&1, Host Gator and several little known hosts found through Google but DiscountASP.NET definitely seems like the most stable of them yet.
Review Based On:   4 Month(s) of usage  

Seemed ok and price is right (dissapointed noSQL)    
Written by Anonymous User (#1344-45) from suwanee, ga   (Thursday, August 27, 2009)
Strengths:   price  
Weaknesses:   No SQL in base hosting account  
Details:   Disappointed that there is no sql database in the base hosting service. You have to pay an additional 10.00/month to have that ability. Most other hosting providers give at least a small database for testing purposes, etc. I am a developer and would like to have the ability to test code, etc. I do not want to use this for a production site, just to do some testing.
Review Based On:   1 Day(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   We've been offering SQL as an addon since we started our business 6 years ago. Our hosting is not just designed for testing, but to host production websites. We don’t include transaction logs in your sql space quota. We are a Microsoft Gold Partner with MCDBAs on staff. We innovate with tools like our Automated Attach MDF File tool, SQL Backup, SQL Restore, SQL Shrink tools. We support the Microsoft IIS7 DBManager. We provide a web-based SQL manager. We have a SQL Backup API so users can develop their own apps to backup SQL. Prior to SQL 2008 launch, we were one of two hosts that offered free SQL 2008 beta hosting. We use SQL 2008 64 bit on DELL dual quad core servers with 32 gb ram. Our hosting is top notch, which is reflected by the many testimonials and awards we receive.

Bad attitude and questionable service    
Written by Anonymous User (#1716-279) from Philadelphia, PA   (Saturday, July 11, 2009)
Strengths:   Uh...cheap?  
Weaknesses:   Marginal hosting service at best, bad attitude  
Details:   Database service has been spotty for a few days, and has now been offline for a while. Not the end of the world. I didn't set up this account so I didn't know much about DASP, so I got online to see if I could find out anything about possible DDoS attacks or other known issues. I came across this board and have had my opinion of them swayed far into the negative, not because of the complaints, but because of the rebuttals. It would seem that these guys spend more time posting rebuttals than servicing customers, and the attitude reflected in the rebuttals is appalling and unprofessional. If you're looking to host a small, nobody kind of site, maybe give them a try and just put up with the spotty service. If you're serious though, find someone else. If something goes wrong, these guys will obviously just play lawyer-ball with you and recite the company lines: "Our service policy clearly states...blah blah...we are not responsible for customer's vacation plans." Seriously? That's your best effort to provide a quality service? And did I read a "Wow" at the beginning of one rebuttal? Serious lack of professional etiquette. I know I sound like I'm just flaming, but this is a serious issue in my opinion. A deal breaker. I'll be moving my business elsewhere. Fortunately our software hasn't yet gone live so the downtime doesn't hurt too bad yet. It won't go live here, that's for sure. Review modified by Codango team.
Review Based On:   6 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   Wow. We do rebut posts to have a fair assessment of incidents because like stated, most of the time people do not leave comments when things are going well and some negative reviews are not reviews but a vehicle for venting. Rebuttals are not handled by our System Admins or tech support who are servicing our customers. Most of the negative comments are clustered around specific time periods when there was a rare global outage, just like this post. We were DDoSed on Friday evening and there is a post about this in our Community Forum. When the Community Forum was not available, we posted at daspstatus.com which is hosted outside our network. During this time our service was spotty (in the US). That is correct. Our system admins worked round the clock to resolve this. Note: Our hosting is not just for small nobodies, we do host many somebodies. Please also note that our marketing department absolutely does not post fake positive reviews here. Serious.

Discount asp à l'écoute de ses clients    
Written by Johan Puisais from France   (Friday, May 22, 2009)
Writer is with: http://www.i-cone.net
Strengths:   écoute, service client, rapidité  
Weaknesses:   no comment  
Details:   Notre site connaissait certains problèmes. Nous avons signalé les faits et l'équipe de DiscountAsp nous à apporté une solution très rapidement. La communication avec l'équipe technique fut très bonne et constructive Nous n'avons plus de problèmes ! Merci à DiscountAsp pour son écoute et sa rapidité d'intervention. Très bon service !
Review Based On:   36 Month(s) of usage  




  << Previous  More Pages:  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7   Next >>  
 
Aspose Components

Sponsor
 

 

 

 
  
  Link to Us  |  About Us Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!

2014 ezd.com, All rights reserved
 

Google Analytics Alternative