You are 1 of 15 Active ASP.NET Visitors
 
 
  ASP.NET Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Add to Del.icio.us  Add to StumbleUpon
 


 
Resource Menu
 Instant Forum .NET 2012  [Demo]  Cost: Free Trial/$199/$489/$839 USDVersion 2012
48
Reviews
8
Favor-It
Customizable, SEO Ready, Extensible ASP.NET & SQL Server discussion forum platform. Easily implement Single Sign On with your existing .NET site. Supports both VS.NET 2008 & 2010. Backed by comprehensive product documentation & first class support. Code: ASP.NET v2.0 & VB

Sponsor



User Reviews   
 Summary  Authentic (30)   




      
Overall Rating:
Codango PHP, ASP .NET, JSP Scripts, Resources, Reviews
Click to Read Reviews
User
Rated
    
Good product, terrible support    
Written by Anonymous User (#1323-26) from London, UK   (Friday, February 17, 2012)
Strengths:   Lots of features  
Weaknesses:   Very poor support  
Details:   The InstantAsp Forum software is extensive and full of features. It also performs + scales well and is easy to integrate into most sites. However, the support documentation seems to be fairly incomplete or out of date. Worse still, they advertise their support as "24hr response" but you actually get an automated response and your ticket gets left with no response unless you chase them. I get the impression they have very few staff and as a result the quality of their support is fairly poor. If you advertise 24hr response, make it 24hr response, don't send me an automated email and insult my intelligence. If you have faily simple forum scenarios go ahead, if you think you might need support, don't bother.
Review Based On:   6 Month(s) of usage  

Buggy software, no customer support    
Written by Anonymous User (#1575-133) from Los Angeles, USA   (Thursday, October 28, 2010)
Strengths:   None  
Weaknesses:   Horrible support. Buggy software.  
Details:   Do not buy this sofware. I made a mistake of buying it for my two sites. It has plenty of bugs and the customer support is not existing. It is very slow and the latest version is not very well tested. If you are lucky that someone responds to you. If they feel they can not help you, they will stop responding to your emails. Stay away from them.
Review Based On:   3 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   I'm sincerely sorry if you had a bad experience. We have of course since resolved bugs based on customer feedback and our newer updates should be much more stable. If there is anything we can do to assist please email sales@instantasp.co.uk and we'll work with you as a top priority.

Great Forum+Supurb Customer Service    
Written by Anonymous User (#1493-244) from Fort Payne, AL   (Wednesday, July 30, 2008)
Strengths:   Fantastic Customer Service! Open code is great, very easy to work into your site!  
Weaknesses:   Installation pretty easy but not so easy for a newby I wouln't think..  
Details:   Had small difficulty installing, contacted Tech Support and got it up right away! I have contacted them with several general questions and the Customer Service/Tech Support is SUPURB!..I have never had that kind of friendly and helpfull service from another software provider before. I know I was somewhat of a burden at times and was never treated as such...You can't go wrong with this forum and the SEO is great also. Google indexes the forum topics constantly.
Review Based On:   3 Month(s) of usage  

Currently not forerunner in forum software    
Written by Anonymous User (#1467-179) from Kansas City, MO   (Tuesday, February 13, 2007)
Strengths:   Good design, easy to use, loaded with lots off key features  
Weaknesses:   Support is very weak or non-existent  
Details:   I purchased and installed this forum in August 2006. After the install, we have had a few hiccups. Attempts to get support either through their support forum or their ticket system proved futile. They offer 90 days free support after purchase through their ticket system, as they say they cannot guarantee that they will answer all questions in the support forum. They however ignore your tickets for weeks, until you just either give up on them and work on finding a solution yourself. I see many posting very good review for these folks. I say, you either fall among one of two groups of people. You may have purchased when they first started and were trying to impress or you were just plain lucky. Try having another problem and contact them about it then file another review for us? I am really seriously thinking of finding another forum solution, as apart from liking their forum from a functional standpoint, the support or lack thereof is just frustrating! I remember when I was in the process of buying, I saw many disgruntled customers in their support forum and many questions unanswered even in ther pre-sale forum. I liked the forum so much, I ignored these red flags and dove in and purchased. This is a decision I regret making. OK, so I have a forum with bugss that I cannot find a solution for. I have either of two options, renew the subscription to their ticket support system for $140 or spend this $140 on a product with a better record of support. I am really thinking the latter. I do not want to shell out $140 only to see my tickets ignored. If you consider this product, make sure you consider yourself warned!
Review Based On:   7 Month(s) of usage  

Fantastic Product+Responsive Support+Value 4 Money    
Written by Anonymous User (#1450-148) from UK   (Thursday, February 01, 2007)
Strengths:   Secure, Scalable, Packed with Features, Very well Supported  
Weaknesses:   Customisations will cost a few hundred dollars, but this represents real value for money  
Details:   InstantASP.Net has high-end products (Forum and KB) which although comprehensive in the range of features, are easy to use. I asked Ryan to make several design customisations and tweaks to the system to optimise it for my needs and I was surprised with the efficiency of the support, his customer-focused mindset and most importantly the very reasonable costs he charged for making the changes. I could have made the changes myself but felt the price Ryan was quoting was low enough to farm out the work to him. Overall, very impressed with InstantASP.net and with Ryan. This company is certainly going places...
Review Based On:   3 Month(s) of usage  

Much Better than Community Server    
Written by Anonymous User (#1664-346)  (Wednesday, December 27, 2006)
Strengths:   Functionality, code is open, Great Support  
Weaknesses:   Too much modulization of code  
Details:   I have integrated the forum with our huge public e-commerce website. I have nothing to say but good things about InstantForum and their support staff. I typically get same-day responses to problems or questions and thorough responses to say the least. The documentation is great...something rare with 3rd party applications and they hide nothing in their code. The forum has been very fast, easily customizable with CSS including putting in our own Custom ASP.NET 2.0 header control in the forum's ASP.NET Master page. I do hope however, they do get away from modulizing their code so much. The code is buried into too many classes, custom controls, etc. so it makes it very difficult to find the underlying code for a control if you want to tweak it however it's MUCH easier than Comminity Sever. If you don't care about being able to really tear it apart and customize it in the back end as in adding your own .NET classes or controls, then the Admin interface is unbelievable and you will love that. It is possible to customize it, but it's not easy work but obtainable as compared to Community Server which is just hopeless. Overall, whether you're a .com site or just a simply small business user, implementing the forums is easy, support exceeds expectations, and you get your money back way beyond what you pay for your software. It's a wonder they charge so cheap, because it deserves a much higher payback for them as this product is a great one. Look for them to be a bigger player than Community Server soon.
Review Based On:   12 Month(s) of usage  

support issues and false advertising    
Written by Anonymous User (#1544-277)  (Tuesday, November 28, 2006)
Strengths:   I am just looking, so can't say  
Weaknesses:   lack of support issue very evident on their support forum  
Details:   First of all, I am a very conscious and cautious buyer, so whatever I say below is the truth (can be validated on their site and here at 411asp.net): I have been looking for a good ASP.NET forum and I decided to take a look at this one. However, there are severe support (lack of) issues and bugs still present in their support forum (50+), unresolved, unanswered to, and lots of the license owners are so pissed they couldn't get a hold of the developers when they need support. See this one as an example: http://support.instantasp.co.uk/Topic11652-46-1.aspx Finally, false advertising: this software is not based on ASP.NET 2.0!! It is compatible (ASP.NET 2.0 is backward compatible anyways), but it is not the same as the software is based on ASP.NET 2.0!! It does not use any ASP.NET 2.0 features at all. Also, I see they advertise on their site as 5-star rated on 411asp.net but the truth is they are only 3.5-star here. All in all, buyer beware.
Review Based On:   using demo only  

Server license goes down, so does your site    
Written by Anonymous User (#1725-225) from USA   (Friday, September 01, 2006)
Strengths:   nice design  
Weaknesses:   BAD support, dependent on licensing server  
Details:   Their server went down and my forum became unusable...took forever to bring up any forum page. There's comment here that mentioned the same thing back in 2005 and company rebutted that it wasn't true. Well, here's the proof from his customers complaining about it! http://support.instantasp.co.uk/Topic11624-59-1.aspx
Review Based On:   12 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   Apologies for the trouble. This was an issue that effected older versions of our software and has since been resolved.

Pay for a forum you can get free? No thanks!    
Written by Anonymous User (#1404-137) from Sweden   (Thursday, August 24, 2006)
Strengths:   Good forum system  
Weaknesses:   Price tag, there are better, free, alternatives  
Details:   The forum system is OK, but far from perfect and there are better free alternatives.
Review Based On:   2 Month(s) of usage  




      More Pages:  1  |  2   Next >>  
 
Aspose Components

Sponsor
 

 

 

 
  
  Link to Us  |  About Us Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!

2014 ezd.com, All rights reserved
 

Google Analytics Alternative