You are 1 of 28 Active ASP Visitors
 
 
  ASP Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Share on Facebook Tweet this! Share on Google+ Share on LinkedIn Add to Del.icio.us   Add to StumbleUpon eee
 


 
Resource Menu


 Reviews Written By This User 

List of All Reviews Written By Lil Peck from Kansas:

Extremely pretty    
Written by Lil Peck from Kansas   (Tuesday, October 21, 2008)
Writer is with: http://chisumquarterhorses.com
Listing Reviewed:   Cool Fusion Photo Gallery
Strengths:   Easy setup, very attractive  
Weaknesses:   Would like option of adding descriptive text  
Details:   Changed config file, uploaded it, customized the style, let it run. Very nice. Despite comments at psc to the contrary, the fla file is included in the zip. It might be nice if the program included adding descriptive text to the pictures but one could hand code that in if desired. I installed this for a client and she likes it fine as is.
Review Based On:   1 Day(s) of usage  

Convert ASP scripts to portable desktop apps    
Written by Lil Peck from Kansas   (Friday, May 16, 2008)
Writer is with: http://equineexpo.com
Listing Reviewed:   ASPexplore
Strengths:   Include database queries and updates  
Weaknesses:   na  
Details:   I am a skilled intermediate level ASP coder and I often wished there was a way to easily make my ASP scripts into portable desktop applications. I have lots of jobs and hobbies and really can't fit in learning another coding language at this time. With this program's SetupMaker.exe, I am able to easily follow it's wizard and make my scripts into self-contained executables. Imagine the possibilities! It is very easy to use. The ASPexplorer part of the program is free and executes ASP scripts like a server does. This is especially nice if you're running XP Home and can't install IIS. The SetupMaker is the part that you will need to purchase a license for after the trial period expires.
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  

Convenient for hosts without Front Page extensions    
Written by Lil Peck from Kansas   (Friday, September 14, 2007)
Writer is with: http://qhd.com
Listing Reviewed:   ANYPORTAL Site Manager
Strengths:   Easier than ftp-ing files back and forth  
Weaknesses:   no comment  
Details:   I have a client whose site is on a host that doesn't offer Front Page extensions. I got tired of downloading files, editing them locally then uploading them again. This allows me to take a couple of steps out of the process.
Review Based On:   1 Hour(s) of usage  

Not perfect, but pretty darn good    
Written by Lil Peck from Kansas   (Sunday, June 03, 2007)
Writer is with: http://equineexpo.com
Listing Reviewed:   Seekdotnet
Strengths:   Excellent value for the ASP coder; great tech support  
Weaknesses:   Pages seem to be returned to browser slowly sometimes  
Details:   I had a test account here for several months before moving to them. I've used several different hosts over the years. I enjoy the independence and creativity that my account with seekdotnet gives me. I can make my own writeable directories and I can use all the major coding languages, plus I can use MS SQL, MySQL, and Access. They have lots of cool components installed and are quick and helpful about installing custom components on request. We had a bit of a bobble when one of my clients accidentally deleted her entire site...she had depended on the host's daily backups (smart webmasters always keep their own backups). Unfortunately, the backup they provided to us was not the most recent version of her site. So, I had Support install a zip component and from now on, we can quickly and easily make zip archives of the site (I put the script here on aspin). Sometimes it seems like pages from this host are served up a bit slowly, even though I have a premium account. However, I think their rates are very reasonable and I think they give very good value for the money! For example, because they allow unlimited domain pointers, you can host multiple sites on one account. No host is perfect and web hosts are often subjected to problems that are beyond their own control. I have a lot of fun with my seekdotnet account; it has allowed me to do many creative things with code. My thanks to the tech support department for their pleasant, quick service. Seekdotnet allows monthly billing, if you want to give them a test drive before committing.
Review Based On:   24 Month(s) of usage  

Superb, easy, fast, free zipping and archiving    
Written by Lil Peck from Kansas   (Friday, May 04, 2007)
Writer is with: http://equineexpo.com
Listing Reviewed:   Zip Component
Strengths:   Free, easy to learn to code for  
Weaknesses:   It never did clean the cats' litter box.  
Details:   As nearly as I could tell, my host's server didn't have a zip component. I asked Support to install this one, which they cheerfully did. I tested the sample scripts provided on the site and found them easy to understand. Soon, I was writing my own variations on the scripts. I've submitted one of them to this directory.
Review Based On:   2 Day(s) of usage  

Easy for SQL Server newbies like moi    
Written by Lil Peck from Kansas   (Friday, March 09, 2007)
Writer is with: http://equineexpo.com
Listing Reviewed:   SqlDbx Database IDE
Strengths:   Free. Easy. Simple. Uncomplicated.  
Weaknesses:   Doesn't walk my dog.  
Details:   I downloaded it. I opened the zip file. I clicked on the exe file. I entered my db info. Golly gee, it works. The hard part for me would be figuring out how to use it to create tables. I guess you use the scripting part for that. I cheated and used another little program to do that instead.
Review Based On:   1 Hour(s) of usage  

Useful cookie creation and listing, dumping    
Written by Anonymous User (#1590-286) from Kansas   (Sunday, February 04, 2007)
Listing Reviewed:   Cookies
Strengths:   Easily converted for saving search parameters  
Weaknesses:   Only that this tutorial was hard to find and ASP101 not listed as site with summary here  
Details:   If I hadn't been lucky enough to find this article I would have been forced to try to write code that would do the same work. I adapted it to add to a search form so that users can save their search parameters and also delete them as wanted. The example shows how to make a form to have users set their own cookie names and values. Then it shows how to retrieve all of those values and dump them into a table display. A link for deleting each cookie appears also. This is one of the most useful articles I've stumbled across.
Review Based On:   1 Day(s) of usage  

Plug it in and go!    
Written by Lil Peck from Kansas   (Friday, February 02, 2007)
Writer is with: http://danmcwhirter.com
Listing Reviewed:   Web Wiz CAPTCHA
Strengths:   Easily integrated into my forms  
Weaknesses:   Not Available  
Details:   I added this to my user signup form that inserts user data into a database.
Review Based On:   1 Hour(s) of usage  

Beautiful Work    
Written by Lil Peck from Kansas   (Monday, October 23, 2006)
Writer is with: http://quarterhorsetimes.com/aspexamples
Listing Reviewed:   ECFM Easy-content File Manager
Strengths:   Extremely easy to install, use  
Weaknesses:   needs rich text editor  
Details:   Tried several file manager scripts for my clients but this one is the best so far. No problems with this one and very pretty too. All it needs is the addition of a rich text editor for file editing or creation. I added my own user restriction code for security.
Review Based On:   1 Hour(s) of usage  


      More Pages:  1  |  2   Next >>  


 
 

 

 
   
  Link to Us  |  About Us   Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!
Web site monitoring by Web Site Monitor - for Android

2014 InfoVertica, LLC, All Rights Reserved *