You are 1 of 26 Active ASP Visitors
 
 
  ASP Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Share on Facebook Tweet this! Share on Google+ Share on LinkedIn Add to Del.icio.us   Add to StumbleUpon eee
 


 
Resource Menu


 Reviews Written By This User 

List of All Reviews Written By Lil Peck from Kansas:

Very cute! It works!    
Written by Lil Peck from Kansas   (Friday, August 22, 2003)
Writer is with: http://quarter-horse-times.com
Listing Reviewed:   JMailbox
Strengths:   Easy to install and it WORKS and is FREE  
Weaknesses:   na  
Details:   Drowning in spam and virus-laden emails, my Outlook Express was just getting too bogged down. My host's webmail got bogged down whenever I tried to use it, too. I tried several webmail scripts (asp, php, cgi) and couldn't get any of them to work. I didn't want to pay money for a script either because I live on a budget. I installed THIS script and it works beautifully, is fast and efficient and also (Grover voice) It is a cute one! It allows me to zap right through those nasty unwanted emails. Next step -- figure out how to get it to save to a database then how to get it to download and save email automatically, to serve as an email archiver.
Review Based On:   1 Hour(s) of usage  

it works well    
Written by Anonymous User (#1619-313) from Kansas   (Thursday, August 21, 2003)
Listing Reviewed:   Delete A File Using ASP
Strengths:   worked the first time I tried it  
Weaknesses:   na  
Details:   I adapted this for use with querystring, which makes it also easy to adapt for use with filenames listed in a database: <% Dim myFSO 'this line creates an instance of the File Scripting Object named myFSO SET myFSO = Server.CreateObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject") 'error handling here to make sure that things go smoothly 'if the file does not exist If myFSO.FileExists("D:\html\gallery\"&request.querystring("file")) Then 'then we delete it myFSO.DeleteFile("D:\html\gallery\"&request.querystring("file")) Else 'otherwise we tell the client it does so they don't get a nasty error Response.Write "THIS FILE DOESN'T EXIST" End If 'this line destroys the instance of the File Scripting Object named myFSO SET myFSO = NOTHING response.write "FILENAME"& " " & request.querystring("file") & " " & "DELETED" %> <form> <input type=button value="Close Window" onClick="javascript:window.close();"> </form>
Review Based On:   1 Hour(s) of usage  

right code at the right time    
Written by Lil Peck from Kansas   (Saturday, July 26, 2003)
Writer is with: http://www.nsba.com/net
Listing Reviewed:   Isolating file extensions
Strengths:   does exactly what it is supposed to do  
Weaknesses:   na  
Details:   I have a script that displays a list of files. I needed to make the image files display with code different from the Flash files. This little script makes that easy.
Review Based On:   1 Hour(s) of usage  

Works very well with MSIE 6 and with NS 7    
Written by Anonymous User (#1681-352) from Kansas   (Tuesday, July 01, 2003)
Listing Reviewed:   Forced Download
Strengths:   Easy to figure out  
Weaknesses:   na  
Details:   I needed to prompt nontechie users to download video files. I looked at other code but I wasn't techie enough myself to figure out how to use it. THIS is easy to figger out!!! Example: http://www.horsevu.com/videos/303381/video.asp
Review Based On:   1 Day(s) of usage  

Does the trick!    
Written by Anonymous User (#1631-309) from Kansas   (Saturday, June 21, 2003)
Listing Reviewed:   List all files in a directory
Strengths:   Uses physical folder pathing  
Weaknesses:   n/a  
Details:   Place it anywhere in your site and have it list the files in any folder of your site. I bet you can think of a useful way to use this script. Very easy to add to your other scripts and to modify.
Review Based On:   1 Hour(s) of usage  

Integrates easily with your preexisting database    
Written by Lil Peck from Kansas   (Wednesday, April 30, 2003)
Writer is with: http://wolfcreekponyexpress.com
Listing Reviewed:   Newsletter App
Strengths:   Uses only 2 fields in database. Easy to set up, works fast.  
Weaknesses:   You have to set up your own password protection for this script  
Details:   I read the previous review so used this script forewarned about the delete problem. Which is not a problem for me. The ONLY thing I needed was a script that would integrate easily and quickly with the database that I already use for my classified ads, so that I can email notices and updates to the registered members of my site. I tried several other mailing list scripts but they were all too complex for what I needed and would take too much time to adapt for my db field names and so on. This little gem works really well for this!
Review Based On:   1 Hour(s) of usage  

Works great, easy to adapt    
Written by Lil Peck from Kansas   (Tuesday, April 15, 2003)
Writer is with: http://wolfcreekponyexpress.com
Listing Reviewed:   Lost Password
Strengths:   Good instructions, easy to understand  
Weaknesses:   It helps if you already have a little bit of ASP experience before adapting this.  
Details:   Adapted it to my script and database, tried it out, it works just fine.
Review Based On:   1 Hour(s) of usage  

Useful and essential    
Written by Lil Peck from Kansas   (Friday, March 21, 2003)
Writer is with: http://quarter-horse-times.com
Listing Reviewed:   2eNetWorX TableEditoR
Strengths:   Create new tables and new fields w/o downloading/uploading  
Weaknesses:   n/a  
Details:   I have installed this on several different accounts over the past year.
Review Based On:   12 Month(s) of usage  

Perhaps daunting to asp beginner, but worth effort    
Written by Lil Peck from Kansas   (Tuesday, February 18, 2003)
Writer is with: http://quarter-horse-times.com
Listing Reviewed:   News Poster Pro
Strengths:   Allows multiple categories, multiple reporters  
Weaknesses:   Newbies may be puzzled by necessary detective work to find files, folders, etc.  
Details:   I chose this script for my site because it allows for multiple categories and multiple reporters who can each have their own login. Granted, I did not upload the folders exactly as they were in the zip file--I placed the database away from my public html directory...but somehow I found myself having to rearrange folders and files and in some cases, having to copy the image files in 2 different locations. This may have been my fault...I don't know for sure. However, I find the script's features and ease of use after installation to be well worth it. A word of caution to newbies: the script writes the config.asp file itself and you will need to allow enough time for that to complete. The instructions in the Readme file might have been more complete and helpful. I wish that there were a main include file that all of the topic titles would be written to as links, so that I could include that one file on my news page. As it is, I do have another file-listing script that I can use for that purpose. Overall the script is very attractive and easy to use after installation and I would recommend it. News Poster Pro has integrated beautifully into my site. I used a little folder-contents-listing script to provide a page to link dynamically to the files that contain the articles. Then I made the articles open in popup windows that also display my sponsors' banners. I also wanted to make the articles searchable. Using ASPmaker, I set up a database search for the articles. (For ASP newbies who might read this review: be sure to learn how to include, because it is so useful.)
Review Based On:   1 Hour(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   Thanks for the feedback. I took a lot your feedback into account when I updated News Poster Pro. As of now the new version is in testing and should be released somewere between March 1 and March 8 2004.


      More Pages:  1  |  2   Next >>  


 
 

 

 
   
  Link to Us  |  About Us   Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!
Web site monitoring by Web Site Monitor - for Android

2014 InfoVertica, LLC, All Rights Reserved *