You are 1 of 16 Active ASP Visitors
 
 
  ASP Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Share on Facebook Tweet this! Share on Google+ Share on LinkedIn Add to Del.icio.us   Add to StumbleUpon eee
 


 
Resource Menu
 MegaBBS Cost: Free/$50 USDVersion 2.2.1
73
Reviews
38
Favor-It
A powerful ASP messageboard. Flat, threaded, or nested discussions. Poll booths, Skins, Outlook style calendars with signups, browser based photo albums, supports unreg'd posting, and many more unique features. Documented API. SQL and Access support Code: ASP 3.0 & VBScript




User Reviews   
   Authentic (29)  Anonymous (44) 




      
Overall Rating:
Codango PHP, ASP .NET, JSP Scripts, Resources, Reviews
Click to Read Reviews
User
Rated
    
Without doubt, the best asp message forum    
Written by James Berry from Ashford, England   (Monday, February 23, 2004)
Writer is with: http://www.adastra.co.uk
Strengths:   Flexible, fast, ms-sql support, great peer-support  
Weaknesses:   none!  
Details:   We changed from internal newsgroups to a web based forum running megabbs. I evaluated two other asp forums and did a lot of research. Megabbs was easy to install (my web server is local, so I just had to copy the directories to the web server), and the sql support is straight forward. Performance has been excellent, and the latest upgrade (to v2.0) is fantastic.
Review Based On:   24 Month(s) of usage  

Very impressive customisation possible    
Written by Jonathan Shaw from UK   (Monday, February 16, 2004)
Writer is with: http://www.ahs.org.uk
Strengths:   Massively customizable  
Weaknesses:   Not used enough to know  
Details:   I had a shortlist of 3 top asp forums. after poking around inside the code of each one, I can see that MegaBBs is far better designed for advance customization by a developer. They have broken down every part of the display into "templates". There's a separate file for each one and many of them are called in the creation of any single page. You can change any of these templates. This means you can easily change any part of the display by changing just one small file. You don't have to worry about it changing it on many different pages, or struggle to find the display bits amongst all the rest of the code. Way cool.
Review Based On:   1 Hour(s) of usage  

Full featured product    
Written by Anonymous User (#1479-224) from St. Paul, MN   (Thursday, March 11, 2004)
Strengths:   Easy to install, easy to administer  
Weaknesses:   database can get quite large  
Details:   Application took about 15 minutes to set up. Created forums, a few users, a photo album and calendar in 30 more minutes.
Review Based On:   18 Month(s) of usage  

MegaBB beats them all    
Written by Ian Baker from Melbourne, Australia   (Wednesday, January 28, 2004)
Writer is with: http://jackaroo.net.au
Strengths:   Professional appearance, easy to install, fully featured, great skins  
Weaknesses:   None I have found  
Details:   I had the forum up and running within 5 minutes and changed its appearance to suit our web site very easily. It has a look and feel that reflects us to our clients as a prfessional entity to deal with.
Review Based On:   7 Day(s) of usage  

Security?    
Written by Anonymous User (#1465-221) from Salt Lake City, UT, USA   (Wednesday, February 18, 2004)
Strengths:   Design, implementation  
Weaknesses:   SECURITY  
Details:   Installing the site was rather easy and simple to setup. It used an Access database or a MS SQL database. Decideing to test a theory, I logged in as a regular account and then attempted to get to the administrator section. IT LET ME IN! I did not even have admin rights to get in. While I could not edit current settings, I was able with several clicks to wipe out the entire message board, makeing me the admin. The board even lists the Username and Password for the MS SQL databse!?!?! Beware users out there, stay with PHP based messageboards. If not for the ease of use, for the security it provides.
Review Based On:   8 Hour(s) of usage  

Everything a forum needs, and more.    
Written by Anonymous User (#1138-110)  (Thursday, February 12, 2004)
Writer is with: http://www.sirwarp.com
Strengths:   Easy to set up, very powerfull admin area, looks professional.  
Weaknesses:   don't forget the admin password, or you will be screwed  
Details:   Used a lot of boards, seen a lot of boards, wrote a lot ASP, this one is the best of them all. There's nothing it doesn't have. I can't believe this board is free! -Sirwarp www.sirwarp.com
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  

GREAT FORUM!!!!    
Written by Anonymous User (#1651-256) from Pensacola, FL   (Tuesday, February 03, 2004)
Strengths:   ASP, Easy to install, Free!  
Weaknesses:   lack of mods...  
Details:   This is a great forum script! I'd love to see a few more mods like in phpbb but I'm sure it's coming since this is such a great script!
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  

Cool Features    
Written by Hugh Yates from Colorado Springs, Co   (Saturday, December 06, 2003)
Writer is with: http://www.dakotatrucks.com
Strengths:   Easy to load and set, Works well with my system. Members like it.  
Weaknesses:   Not many add ons yet.  
Details:   Feed back from my members and my experiance setting it up.
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  

megga    
Written by steve clews from UK   (Friday, December 05, 2003)
Writer is with: http://www.southendtechnical.co.uk/forum
Strengths:   easy installation, stable, robust  
Weaknesses:   no new use help screens  
Details:   Excellent piece of software and it has been a great success. The only one comment I would have is that for new users who join the forum there are no help features and you have to send them info in an attachment. There are lots of good features but not used due to novice users not understanding them. However this is the only bad point I can come up with. My forum runs on SQL and the setup was easy to follow and worked without problems first time.
Review Based On:   2 Month(s) of usage  




  << Previous  More Pages:  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7   Next >>  
 
Sponsor
Sponsor
 

 

 

 
  
  Link to Us  |  About Us Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!
Web site monitoring by Web Site Monitor - for Android

2014 InfoVertica, LLC, All Rights Reserved *