You are 1 of 12 Active ASP Visitors
 
 
  ASP Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Add to Del.icio.us  Add to StumbleUpon
 


 
Resource Menu
 Read / write windows INI files Site: PSTRUH Software 
8
Reviews
5
Favor-It
You can read and write standard formatted windows INI configuration files with this set of functions (GetINIString / WriteINIString VBS functions), using Scripting.FileSystemObject. Author: Antonin Foller Code: ASP 3.0 & VBScript




User Reviews   
   Authentic (1)  Anonymous (7) 




      
Overall Rating:
Codango PHP, ASP .NET, JSP Scripts, Resources, Reviews
Click to Read Reviews
User
Rated
    
Excellent advice    
Written by Anonymous User (#1338-79) from Yizhar, Israel   (Sunday, January 16, 2011)
Strengths:   Simple code to access INI files on all versions of Windows  
Weaknesses:   None found  
Details:   Dear Sir - you are a real gentlemen ! Your code helped me out of the mud of a access-INI-files-on-multiple-servers-by-vbscript task. In all my projects I avoid using the registry and prefer good old INI files - most of the times accessing by API in VB6. This time I had to provide a monitoring function called by an application which does only VBScript. My first tries failed until I realized that there is no DECLARE External Function in VBScript. Google and Codango helped me to find the good solution. Yours, Meiki
Review Based On:   1 Hour(s) of usage  

A complete ini file routine    
Written by Anonymous User (#1467-217) from UK   (Sunday, February 26, 2006)
Strengths:   completely encapsulated routines that work  
Weaknesses:   no comment  
Details:   these routines were used in a script to automatically update and install complex software, negating the requirement to visit hundreds of pc's.
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  

Read and write windows INI files in VBSscript    
Written by Anonymous User (#1712-285) from Baltimore, MD, USA   (Wednesday, January 18, 2006)
Strengths:   Able to use out of the box, clear, well commented  
Weaknesses:   no comment  
Details:   Enabled me to quickly throw a tool together to help out our QA dept. Who says .ini files are dead?
Review Based On:   7 Day(s) of usage  

Tested and approved ...    
Written by MikaŽl Hautin from Belfort, France   (Friday, September 30, 2005)
Writer is with: http://www.alstom.com
Strengths:   Read/Write support, comments...  
Weaknesses:   None !  
Details:   I'm carrying out the development of an asp application that reads an excel file, and then generates an html application. To do this, I need to read an ini file first, and then write to another one according to what's in the excel file. I'm using those functions for 2 weeks, and it resisted to all the tests my application have undergone. Thanks to you !
Review Based On:   14 Day(s) of usage  

Good one    
Written by Anonymous User (#1760-190) from Switzerland, Zurich   (Thursday, February 12, 2004)
Strengths:   was exactly what i needed  
Weaknesses:   none  
Details:   worked without any errors. easily understandable. very useful for it´s purpose
Review Based On:   2 Day(s) of usage  

Just what I needed    
Written by Anonymous User (#1237-105) from Missoula, MT   (Friday, January 30, 2004)
Strengths:   This is a quick easy way to read and write ini files  
Weaknesses:   I haven't fully tested it.  
Details:   I needed this vbscript to use in a macro.
Review Based On:   1 Hour(s) of usage  

Great INI read write code !    
Written by Anonymous User (#1374-159) from New York City   (Tuesday, July 01, 2003)
Strengths:   Short, and very Flexible. Good parsing routine  
Weaknesses:   None  
Details:   I really like the fact you pass in the the Key you are looking for and it returns it regardless if it's at the beginning middle or end of the the INI file. The Parsing and File read function a well done and provide for easy error handling.
Review Based On:   1 Day(s) of usage  

WriteINIString    
Written by Anonymous User (#1801-220) from Houston   (Thursday, May 15, 2003)
Strengths:   Excellent code and documentation  
Weaknesses:   no comment  
Details:   I used it and it works with very few revisions (mostly adding introductory lines: creating the objects, for instance).
Review Based On:   1 Day(s) of usage  



 
Shopping Cart

Sponsor
 

 

 

 
  
  Link to Us  |  About Us Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!

© 2014 ezd.com, All rights reserved
 

Google Analytics Alternative