You are 1 of 28 Active ASP Visitors
 
 
  ASP Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Share on Facebook Tweet this! Share on Google+ Share on LinkedIn Add to Del.icio.us   Add to StumbleUpon eee
 


 
Resource Menu
58
Reviews
5
Favor-It
$5 per Month ASP/ASP.NET Hosting! Award Winning ASP/ASP.NET Hosting Provider: Classic ASP, ASP.NET 4.5 Hosting, ASP.NET 4/3.5 SP1, Windows 2012/ IIS 8, SQL 2012 Hosting NOW Available, MS WebDeploy, MVC 4, Visual Studio 2012 & More!




User Reviews   
 Summary    Anonymous (15) 




      
Overall Rating:
Codango PHP, ASP .NET, JSP Scripts, Resources, Reviews
Click to Read Reviews
User
Rated
    
Migration to EU data center    
Written by Kishor Mepani from London, UK   (Monday, January 05, 2009)
Writer is with: http://WebTCards.com
Strengths:   Smooth and trouble free, even over new year holidays  
Weaknesses:   Speed on the US data center  
Details:   We were having response issues in the UK with our site hosted on the US data center. DiscountASP recommended migrating to the EU data center. Now our Customers in the UK have improved response time and the US has not suffered. I'd like to thank the DiscountASP support team for migrating our web site, database and SSL certificate all over New Years Eve without any issues.
Review Based On:   24 Month(s) of usage  

solid    
Written by Stephen Churchville from New York   (Thursday, December 18, 2008)
Writer is with: http://lessonwriter.com
Strengths:   responsive, good & affordable  
Weaknesses:   none  
Details:   I understand and share the other posters frustration, but have worked with a number of hosting companies and discountasp has been the most dependable, done a very good job of responding to tech support requests, and provides a terrific feature set. That said, what can I do to prevent a repeat of today? Better, what can they do to prevent a repeat of today?
Review Based On:   14 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   Thank you for the support. We will certainly conduct a postmortem analysis and take steps to tyr to prevent this type of outage from happenning again.

think twice if you want to use discountasp    
Written by j Di Fruscia from Canada   (Thursday, December 18, 2008)
Writer is with: http://www.jinnysjewels.com
Strengths:   cheap  
Weaknesses:   outages, no notification system or phone support  
Details:   Lack of notification system to let client know when there is an outage. This is my busiest time of the year and feels like I am in the dark since I have no clue when they will be back on-line. Too bad that I do not have a fresh downloaded copy of my website, or I would have already transferred with other ISP like yesterday. You better think twice if you want to use discountasp for ecommerce.
Review Based On:   using demo only  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   There is a notification system in place. We post in outages in the Community Forum, which we did. We also posted in our offsite emergency status page at daspstatus.com and we are updating this page. Unfortunately, the latency issue is due to our upstream provider and while we are working with them, it is their engineers that need to find the origin of the issue and fix the problem.

Nervous    
Written by Cassi Knight from Georgia   (Thursday, December 18, 2008)
Writer is with: http://www.justgreek.com
Strengths:   fast support, good prices  
Weaknesses:   no phone number or notification for outages  
Details:   I am very nervous right now. This is our busiest time of year, we have been putting a lot of time and money in our site and now it is down. I understand this host has forums for outages like http://community.discountasp.net but they are down are very slow as well. I wish i could have received an email to a secondary address or something about what is going on. I am so nervous about losing money in this economy and to have a host they you can talk to and then their community page is down it doesnot leave you a lot of leg room. I don't know what to do. They seemed like a good host but this is a horrible week to be down when a retailer relies on the internet for their business. I wish I knew an ETA so I can tell my people. I also wanted to add but the offsite suupport page is down as well daspstatus.com. Please help with this I don't want to go to another host. I went to the communicty forum and it is very slow but it does say they are having a router problem but I am still nervous about it I can't afford to have this go own for a long time.
Review Based On:   6 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   It is a bad time of year and bad time in our economic times to have this latency issue. We totally understand that the poster's confidence is shaken. However, our web-based business is important to us as well and we are doing all we can to resolve the issue as quickly as we can. It is a bad time for this to happen to us as well. Our community forum performance is spotty right now due to the latency. However, the daspstatus.com site is offsite has not been down as this poster claims. We are updating this site. Unfortunately, the issue has to do with our upstream provider - nothing with our hosting infrastructure - and while we are working with their network engineers, it is their engineers that need to work to fix this issue. And as such, we cannot give an ETA. Also, keep in mind that this type of event happenning is rare and not systemic. You don't see regular posts of events like this here, for example.

Lots of down time.....    
Written by Rob Grillos from Chicago, IL   (Thursday, December 18, 2008)
Writer is with: http://www.rocketcrack.com
Strengths:   'Cutting edge technology', easy switch  
Weaknesses:   Lots of down time... poor communications...  
Details:   The system is great... when you can connect to it... I've had a server here for probably 6 months now; I was happy with the transition, I've been happy how easily it has been to get my new asp.net 3.5/etc stuff working on it, I've been somewhat happy with the database performance (don't like how I have to dig through every database in the system to find the >1< I have access to) Problem is... lots of down time... I've got an application that 'phones home' to my discountasp.net server all day/night long while the users use it, and they've been complaining of lots of issues of it losing connection to the server... It usually happens early in the morning, so I'm not able to catch it and diagnose it, but when I have caught it, I've found that I'm not only unable to reach my web site, I can't reach my sql server either... This happens at least twice a week, every week... for at least the past two months... Doing a traceroute/poll shows massive packetloss at the destination, so it's either a problem internal to discountasp.net, or a problem with their connection to the internet... As for the 'emergency status page'...... well this site is the first I heard of it... and it doesn't reflect any outage information... (I didn't see any links to any sort of outage information on the main discountasp.net site, which is also experiencing massive packetloss) Looking in the forums, I don't see any discussions about the current outtage that I've been experiencing for the past 45 minutes...
Review Based On:   6 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   We are happy that this customer believes that our sytem is great and we are cutting edge. There are two issues here. The latter mention of packetloss is due to a router issue we are experiencing. When we detected it - we posted about the issue in our Forum and our offsite status site daspstatus.com. Our system admins are working on the issue and have been since the monitoring system notified them. Now the first issue about their app experiencing uptime issues - well that is difficult to say what is going on from this post. It's not a systemic issue that other customers are experiencing as you would see tons of posts here and elsewhere about similar issues. For isolated issues like this, the problem could be something to do with the application itself, the packetloss could be due to outside internet connectivity issues, it could be our upstream providers, ...etc. But to really drill down on it - the customer should contact our support.

Quick freindly Support, Excellent control Panel.    
Written by Zcafe Canada from Canada   (Thursday, October 30, 2008)
Writer is with: http://www.zcafe.ca
Strengths:   Service, Tech support, no down time.  
Weaknesses:   none.  
Details:   We have few accounts for few years. These guys always keep up to date with system and e-mail upgrades while not reducing level of quality and quick support. I have been through not a few hosts, and these are the best so far. The only thing they need to improve is the emergency backup process. Sometimes sites require backup due to a bug or error on their site. Discountasp has backup scheduled few times a day, that's really great. However the process takes some bureaucracy... Discountasp please read: You can create a form in the control panel, where customer can fill in request and time of preferred backup per support e-mail, confirming the charge within the form. Currently it takes too much time to transfer from support to billing and back to support... For some sites, few hours down can value in thousands of dollars. Although rare to most sites, and although the need for backup is solely due to customer site error or bug and not Discountasp fault, this scenario can be frustrating if it takes too long.
Review Based On:   50 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   Thanks for the feedback. I'll mention your control panel backup form system to our product management team.

Fast, inexpensive and reliable hosting    
Written by Pieter Cooreman from Leuven, Belgium   (Thursday, October 02, 2008)
Writer is with: http://www.quickersite.com
Strengths:   Inexpensive, fast server, very complete control panel  
Weaknesses:   Their homepage... it's bloated with images and banners  
Details:   I am testing several low-price hosting solutions for a CMS I develop. I signed up for a hosting solution on IIS7 in the UK. I have setup 2 website-monitoring services right from the start. After 4 weeks, I have had 1 outage, that was caused by the upgrade to ASP.NET 3.5. I also noticed that my site was hosted together with only 60 or 70 others. I guess there will be some more in the future, but for now I'm very happy with the performance. Strongly recommended!
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   Thank you for the positive words. As for our website, admittedly we do have a lot of product and feature images. Its tough because Microsoft is releasing so much new stuff so fast and each of those graphics are things that we get potential customers asking us about. We do have some internal discussions on cleaning our site up, but it is going to be a bigger project. Thanks for the honest feedback and we hope to see some improvement in the future.

Great service!!    
Written by Anonymous User (#1300-136)  (Tuesday, September 02, 2008)
Writer is with: http://www.conceptod.com
Strengths:   Service, Tech support, price..  
Weaknesses:   no comment  
Details:   I have 5 registered accounts with DASP, and I feel very happy with the service. I've had some problems with the mail server because I needed it to be moved to my own server, but tech support helped me in less than 2 hours, and I solved the situation very fast!!! you can be sure my new web clients will be hosted by DASP!! Thanks
Review Based On:   16 Month(s) of usage  

I will never consider DiscountASP.NET again    
Written by Ryan Long from Minneapolis, MN, USA   (Wednesday, June 11, 2008)
Writer is with: http://gonsowskiwedding.com
Strengths:   Powerful array of services, fair pricing, fast service  
Weaknesses:   Bad business practices, service was less-than-helpful  
Details:   I had a great experience with these guys until it came time to leave them. I wanted to keep the existing domain, but move its registration and hosting to another company that I had been working with. The reason for this was: my client no longer wished to support her site, but I wanted it to remain live so it could be used as a sample of my work as a web developer. I submitted a ticket asking for the domain to be unlocked so I could transfer the registration. The response was prompt and helpful. He said, in more words, 'sure, we'll get right on that... by the way, are you cancelling the hosting, too? If so, why?' I then responded with my situation: "unfortunately, yes I have to cancel the hosting, too..." His response to this was to ignore my initial request and begin the hosting cancellation process. This posed a big problem for me: I could no longer "guarantee ownership" of the domain--I couldn't transfer it--without giving up $15 to DiscountASP for the 'annual renewal fee' (which should only be $10, anyway) that they had automatically performed for me. Their response email after my transfer request stated: "Please be advised, if we unlock the domain, the auto renew domain feature will be disabled and you will be responsible for renewing your domain before it expires." However, following my reply regarding the hosting, the domain was automatically renewed! I feel cheated out of my money, as I already have to pay the new registrar $10 to transfer and renew the domain. I'm glad I left DiscountASP.NET and I highly recommend against using them.
Review Based On:   36 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   We are happy that this customer had 2 years of great hosting experience with us but we are sorry to hear that they feel different now. The Policies agreed to at signup, state that domains registered through us will be automatically renewed to avoid service disruption, and if the account is canceled within 30 days of the original domain expiration, an additional year's registration fee is due. Our policies on domain renewals reflect how Domain Registrars work. Basically, the Domain Registrar charges DiscountASP.NET 30 days before the domain expires for an additional year of domain renewal and it is nonrefundable. So if a customer wants to cancel and keep the domain, we simply want to recover the money that we already paid out for the domain renewal. Once the domain is paid for by the customer, they can do with it whatever they wish. Also DiscountASP.NET will no longer renew the domain and the customer will be responsible for their domain renewals. No cheating. No evil plot. Really.




      More Pages:  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5   Next >>  
 
Shopping Cart

Sponsor
 

 

 

 
   
  Link to Us  |  About Us   Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!
Web site monitoring by Web Site Monitor - for Android

2014 InfoVertica, LLC, All Rights Reserved *