You are 1 of 9 Active ASP Visitors
 
 
  ASP Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Add to Del.icio.us  Add to StumbleUpon
 


 
Resource Menu
58
Reviews
5
Favor-It
$5 per Month ASP/ASP.NET Hosting! Award Winning ASP/ASP.NET Hosting Provider: Classic ASP, ASP.NET 4.5 Hosting, ASP.NET 4/3.5 SP1, Windows 2012/ IIS 8, SQL 2012 Hosting NOW Available, MS WebDeploy, MVC 4, Visual Studio 2012 & More!




User Reviews   
   Authentic (43)  Anonymous (15) 




      
Overall Rating:
Codango PHP, ASP .NET, JSP Scripts, Resources, Reviews
Click to Read Reviews
User
Rated
    
Migration to EU data center    
Written by Kishor Mepani from London, UK   (Monday, January 05, 2009)
Writer is with: http://WebTCards.com
Strengths:   Smooth and trouble free, even over new year holidays  
Weaknesses:   Speed on the US data center  
Details:   We were having response issues in the UK with our site hosted on the US data center. DiscountASP recommended migrating to the EU data center. Now our Customers in the UK have improved response time and the US has not suffered. I'd like to thank the DiscountASP support team for migrating our web site, database and SSL certificate all over New Years Eve without any issues.
Review Based On:   24 Month(s) of usage  

solid    
Written by Stephen Churchville from New York   (Thursday, December 18, 2008)
Writer is with: http://lessonwriter.com
Strengths:   responsive, good & affordable  
Weaknesses:   none  
Details:   I understand and share the other posters frustration, but have worked with a number of hosting companies and discountasp has been the most dependable, done a very good job of responding to tech support requests, and provides a terrific feature set. That said, what can I do to prevent a repeat of today? Better, what can they do to prevent a repeat of today?
Review Based On:   14 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   Thank you for the support. We will certainly conduct a postmortem analysis and take steps to tyr to prevent this type of outage from happenning again.

think twice if you want to use discountasp    
Written by j Di Fruscia from Canada   (Thursday, December 18, 2008)
Writer is with: http://www.jinnysjewels.com
Strengths:   cheap  
Weaknesses:   outages, no notification system or phone support  
Details:   Lack of notification system to let client know when there is an outage. This is my busiest time of the year and feels like I am in the dark since I have no clue when they will be back on-line. Too bad that I do not have a fresh downloaded copy of my website, or I would have already transferred with other ISP like yesterday. You better think twice if you want to use discountasp for ecommerce.
Review Based On:   using demo only  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   There is a notification system in place. We post in outages in the Community Forum, which we did. We also posted in our offsite emergency status page at daspstatus.com and we are updating this page. Unfortunately, the latency issue is due to our upstream provider and while we are working with them, it is their engineers that need to find the origin of the issue and fix the problem.

Nervous    
Written by Cassi Knight from Georgia   (Thursday, December 18, 2008)
Writer is with: http://www.justgreek.com
Strengths:   fast support, good prices  
Weaknesses:   no phone number or notification for outages  
Details:   I am very nervous right now. This is our busiest time of year, we have been putting a lot of time and money in our site and now it is down. I understand this host has forums for outages like http://community.discountasp.net but they are down are very slow as well. I wish i could have received an email to a secondary address or something about what is going on. I am so nervous about losing money in this economy and to have a host they you can talk to and then their community page is down it doesnot leave you a lot of leg room. I don't know what to do. They seemed like a good host but this is a horrible week to be down when a retailer relies on the internet for their business. I wish I knew an ETA so I can tell my people. I also wanted to add but the offsite suupport page is down as well daspstatus.com. Please help with this I don't want to go to another host. I went to the communicty forum and it is very slow but it does say they are having a router problem but I am still nervous about it I can't afford to have this go own for a long time.
Review Based On:   6 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   It is a bad time of year and bad time in our economic times to have this latency issue. We totally understand that the poster's confidence is shaken. However, our web-based business is important to us as well and we are doing all we can to resolve the issue as quickly as we can. It is a bad time for this to happen to us as well. Our community forum performance is spotty right now due to the latency. However, the daspstatus.com site is offsite has not been down as this poster claims. We are updating this site. Unfortunately, the issue has to do with our upstream provider - nothing with our hosting infrastructure - and while we are working with their network engineers, it is their engineers that need to work to fix this issue. And as such, we cannot give an ETA. Also, keep in mind that this type of event happenning is rare and not systemic. You don't see regular posts of events like this here, for example.

Lots of down time.....    
Written by Rob Grillos from Chicago, IL   (Thursday, December 18, 2008)
Writer is with: http://www.rocketcrack.com
Strengths:   'Cutting edge technology', easy switch  
Weaknesses:   Lots of down time... poor communications...  
Details:   The system is great... when you can connect to it... I've had a server here for probably 6 months now; I was happy with the transition, I've been happy how easily it has been to get my new asp.net 3.5/etc stuff working on it, I've been somewhat happy with the database performance (don't like how I have to dig through every database in the system to find the >1< I have access to) Problem is... lots of down time... I've got an application that 'phones home' to my discountasp.net server all day/night long while the users use it, and they've been complaining of lots of issues of it losing connection to the server... It usually happens early in the morning, so I'm not able to catch it and diagnose it, but when I have caught it, I've found that I'm not only unable to reach my web site, I can't reach my sql server either... This happens at least twice a week, every week... for at least the past two months... Doing a traceroute/poll shows massive packetloss at the destination, so it's either a problem internal to discountasp.net, or a problem with their connection to the internet... As for the 'emergency status page'...... well this site is the first I heard of it... and it doesn't reflect any outage information... (I didn't see any links to any sort of outage information on the main discountasp.net site, which is also experiencing massive packetloss) Looking in the forums, I don't see any discussions about the current outtage that I've been experiencing for the past 45 minutes...
Review Based On:   6 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   We are happy that this customer believes that our sytem is great and we are cutting edge. There are two issues here. The latter mention of packetloss is due to a router issue we are experiencing. When we detected it - we posted about the issue in our Forum and our offsite status site daspstatus.com. Our system admins are working on the issue and have been since the monitoring system notified them. Now the first issue about their app experiencing uptime issues - well that is difficult to say what is going on from this post. It's not a systemic issue that other customers are experiencing as you would see tons of posts here and elsewhere about similar issues. For isolated issues like this, the problem could be something to do with the application itself, the packetloss could be due to outside internet connectivity issues, it could be our upstream providers, ...etc. But to really drill down on it - the customer should contact our support.

Rocksolid hosting with proper email    
Written by Anonymous User (#1318-101) from Santander   (Friday, January 02, 2009)
Strengths:   IIS7, SQL2008, freedom, stability  
Weaknesses:   Phone support, one strange outage  
Details:   Hello, DiscountASP has made my life more relaxed. S9ince I've put my software on their infrastructure, everything simply keeps on working, just like I was used to long time ago on linux. The only problem I had was with an outage of the SQL server in the uk. It seemed that the problem took too much time to solve because of a lack of monitoring... The server was down, I put in a ticket and the techie said he could connect without problem. Some time later, when the problem was recognised, it was solved. Afterwards no more problems! DASP is wordt a big recommendation!
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   We are pleased that this customer is happy with our asp.net hosting service. I am not sure of the mentioned sql outage in the UK. I do know that we had a maintanance outage in December. Also, it sounds like the sql issue was an isolated issue as our tech support could not replicate it and there was no system-wide outage.

Bad Situation.....    
Written by Anonymous User (#1623-171) from NY   (Thursday, December 18, 2008)
Strengths:   Usually no problems....  
Weaknesses:   but a couple times over the last day or two OUTAGES  
Details:   Usually no problems and quick / good customer support. However yesterday I experienced an outage that lasted 10 - 15 minutes. Today it has been out for almost 5 hours so far. Haven't been able to get anything done all day. Devastating to my production schedule. However, they do update their offsite status page every couple of hours. www.daspstatus.com
Review Based On:   14 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   We are happy that this poster acknowledged that the issues they are experiencing are not systemic. I am not sure what outage the poster is referring to about yesterday. We did have an emergancy maintenance outage for our european datacenter yesterday. Perhaps, this is what is being referred to. As for today's latency issue, our team is working on it but unfortunately, the issue resides outside of our network and with one of our upstream providers and we are waiting on their network engineers to fix this issue. WE continue to update our offsite emergency status page at daspstatus.com

Quick freindly Support, Excellent control Panel.    
Written by Zcafe Canada from Canada   (Thursday, October 30, 2008)
Writer is with: http://www.zcafe.ca
Strengths:   Service, Tech support, no down time.  
Weaknesses:   none.  
Details:   We have few accounts for few years. These guys always keep up to date with system and e-mail upgrades while not reducing level of quality and quick support. I have been through not a few hosts, and these are the best so far. The only thing they need to improve is the emergency backup process. Sometimes sites require backup due to a bug or error on their site. Discountasp has backup scheduled few times a day, that's really great. However the process takes some bureaucracy... Discountasp please read: You can create a form in the control panel, where customer can fill in request and time of preferred backup per support e-mail, confirming the charge within the form. Currently it takes too much time to transfer from support to billing and back to support... For some sites, few hours down can value in thousands of dollars. Although rare to most sites, and although the need for backup is solely due to customer site error or bug and not Discountasp fault, this scenario can be frustrating if it takes too long.
Review Based On:   50 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   Thanks for the feedback. I'll mention your control panel backup form system to our product management team.

Good price, adequate support, quick to new tech    
Written by Anonymous User (#1730-177) from San Francisco, CA   (Thursday, November 06, 2008)
Strengths:   Good price, Convenient site/Control panel. Latest MS tech. Dependable service  
Weaknesses:   Nothing major. Phone support would be nice, but you get what you pay for.  
Details:   I used it for my personal domain, for couple of clients and now for my new startup. All is shared hosted. I like the price, and because of it can live without phone support. I would rather them lower prices further then provide phone support, really. I have opend couple of tickets over time, and was generally satisfied. Was long ago, so sorry I don't recall specifics. I use FTP all the time and it is fast enough. I do stuff in control panel, define web applications etc, and it is responsive and logicaly organized. One thing that I value is quick adaptation of new Microsoft technologies. I am on the bleading edge and need the latest stuff. Another strength is site layout. I tried one even cheaper hosting at a company where I regsitered my domain and was very disappointed by their web site organization. I could hardly find the way to control panel, through pile of advertising and different other services. DASP focuses on hosting and is modest in their attempts to cross and up sell. I experienced outages, like everyone else commented, but with Amazon down twice this year what you can expect? Nobody is 99999. DASP was IMHO well within the reasonably dependent service definition. Suffice to say my application breaks so much more then the hoster, that it will take me time when DASP becomes the reliability bottleneck. Overall I do recommend it. It took me time to sift through enough hosters to find them. Hope I help you save time :)
Review Based On:   52 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   Thanks so much for the kudos. While we do what we can to avoid outages, they can happen - and even to the most huge companies like Amazon. We do maintain an outages section in our community forum and we also have an offsite website at daspstatus.com for communications on any global outages.




      More Pages:  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7   Next >>  
 
Shopping Cart

Sponsor
 

 

 

 
  
  Link to Us  |  About Us Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!

2014 ezd.com, All rights reserved
 

Google Analytics Alternative