You are 1 of 22 Active ASP Visitors
 
 
  ASP Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Add to Del.icio.us  Add to StumbleUpon
 


 
Resource Menu
14
Reviews
0
Favor-It
The easy-to-use Button Factory is practical but provides no safeguards! This link explains the major pitfall of using the point-and-click code. We conclude with Fraud Prevention Tips and links to other solutions that are made secure by using Paypal IPN.




User Reviews   
   Authentic (5)  Anonymous (9) 




      
Overall Rating:
Codango PHP, ASP .NET, JSP Scripts, Resources, Reviews
Click to Read Reviews
User
Rated
    
Good Advice on PayPal Security    
Written by Anonymous User (#1406-154) from Sydney, Australia   (Sunday, January 15, 2012)
Strengths:   Good overview & solution to security weakness of PayPal button code.  
Weaknesses:   It would be great to extend this article to cover the encryption options available.  
Details:   As a web developer, I had not had a client requiring PayPal integration until last month. As the client's business is in start-up, they opted for PayPal's free offering - Web Site Payments Standard. When I examined the so-called "button code" (a misnomer in itself as it is really form code) it was immediately apparent that any script-kiddy with basic HTML skills would be able to manipluate pricing with a minimum of effort. I had come to the conclusion that implementing IPN was essential to mitigate this kind of attack. It was great to see this article addressing this issue and confirming my understanding. It is the only article I have found on the Internet (apart from PayPals obtuse documentation) specifically addressing this issue. Well done!
Review Based On:   using demo only  

Paypal Buttons not secure    
Written by joshua kay from Atlanta, GA   (Wednesday, December 17, 2008)
Writer is with: http://NoSinusInfections.synthasite.com
Strengths:   Excellent, informative article for those selling reports, et al, online  
Weaknesses:   none  
Details:   This can help both newcomers to online selling and experienced online sellers. Easy to understand with "layman's" terminology - not to geeky/techie. Shows common pitfalls of many online sellers and how to protect yourself as a seller. Very good article, well written. Fast read, yet clear and in-depth insight into how not to get scammed by hackers who know html and may want to change the price of your product.
Review Based On:   using demo only  

Review of Button Factory    
Written by Rudy Roesel from NC   (Tuesday, August 01, 2006)
Writer is with: http://www.247marketingroup.com
Strengths:   Great info about how it works and risks involved  
Weaknesses:   Doesn't mention encrypting the button code  
Details:   I use the encryption method on my PayPal account and have never been hacked.
Review Based On:   using demo only  

Excellent Paypal Overview    
Written by Anonymous User (#1669-282) from KS   (Tuesday, November 15, 2005)
Strengths:   Explains advantages and disadvantages of methods  
Weaknesses:   n/a  
Details:   I read the article and found it to be useful and very interesting.
Review Based On:   1 Hour(s) of usage  

Good summary    
Written by Anonymous User (#1548-134) from Sweden   (Friday, December 03, 2004)
Strengths:   Short summary of basic PayPal security issues  
Weaknesses:   no comment  
Details:   Being new to selling via Paypal and having read the PayPal documentation, this article gave a much better overview of possible pitfalls.
Review Based On:   using demo only  

Unsecure PayPal Buttons    
Written by C Rivers from Iowa, USA   (Thursday, October 21, 2004)
Writer is with: http://www.rivertigerarts.com
Strengths:   detailed explanations, real-world images, didn't talk down but understandable by layperson  
Weaknesses:   explain paypal IPN for us - paypal won't unless you have a PayPal account  
Details:   I tried using the link in the document to view PayPal IPN - definition - it didn't work for me
Review Based On:   using demo only  

Nice to know!!!    
Written by Anonymous User (#1770-306) from New York   (Thursday, November 20, 2003)
Strengths:   no comment  
Weaknesses:   NONE  
Details:   WOW!!! I'm new to paypal and never knew this until now! I feel so much more informaed now! Great article!! Brian
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  

Reminder of the dark side    
Written by Anonymous User (#1704-258) from Los Angeles CA   (Sunday, August 17, 2003)
Strengths:   Very easy to understand  
Weaknesses:   no comment  
Details:   Setting up site security, and have used button factory in the past. What I do is to modify the code for the buttons by hand after using the button factory, for rollover effects and validation.
Review Based On:   1 Hour(s) of usage  

Button Factory Edjumacation    
Written by John Smiley from Calgary, Canada   (Thursday, June 19, 2003)
Writer is with: http://www.leasecraft.net
Strengths:   Informative, Easy-to-understand  
Weaknesses:   None  
Details:   I am about to set up a site to sell an e-book. I have been searching for 4 hours trying to figure out just what was the problem with PayPal buttons (I'd heard there was) and how to overcome those problems. I now understand the problem and know what my choices are. Thank you!
Review Based On:   using demo only  




      More Pages:  1  |  2   Next >>  
 
Shopping Cart

Sponsor
 

 

 

 
  
  Link to Us  |  About Us Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!

2014 ezd.com, All rights reserved
 

Google Analytics Alternative