You are 1 of 13 Active ASP Visitors
 
 
  ASP Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Share on Facebook Tweet this! Share on Google+ Share on LinkedIn Add to Del.icio.us   Add to StumbleUpon eee
 


 
Resource Menu
 Toast Forums Cost: Free/$79/$149/$499 USDVersion 1.8
149
Reviews
141
Favor-It
One of the most popular ASP forum scripts available. Now features category based forums, redesigned admin interface, customizable editor and many more advanced features. Can easily be fitted into your existing website and integrate w/existing member db. Code: ASP 2.0 & VBScript




User Reviews   
   Authentic (36)  Anonymous (113) 




      
Overall Rating:
Codango PHP, ASP .NET, JSP Scripts, Resources, Reviews
Click to Read Reviews
User
Rated
    
Better every time...    
Written by Anonymous User (#1665-291) from Rhodes, Greece   (Tuesday, December 16, 2008)
Strengths:   *Really* customizable  
Weaknesses:   Not the most feature-rich - but who cares!  
Details:   I have used Toastforums for one of my intranet projects, and I must say that it really has got everything I wanted. Well, one thing I am missing is the possibility to see which posts are new since I last logged in, but the support people have promised me this will be in the next version. (In fact - i have seen a pre beta demo of it, and it's looking great). :-)
Review Based On:   4 Month(s) of usage  

Terrible Customer Service    
Written by Anonymous User (#1618-236)  (Thursday, October 09, 2008)
Strengths:   no comment  
Weaknesses:   very bad licensing process  
Details:   This is the second time i have used this product, the first time was when it was owned by Josh Painter, now that the application is in new hands the customer service is HORRIBLE, i bought the product on oct 3rd and still after many emails i have not recieved the licence key, or a reply I have paid $149 dollars and at this point my only option appears to be calling the credit card company to dispute the charge to my card.
Review Based On:   24 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   I would like to correct some errors here. The product was correctly purchased on Oct 3rd, and we contacted the customer straight away to get the license created. We did not receive the required information from the customer until Oct 8. The license key was created on Oct 8 and sent to the customer by email. We understand the customer was under some time pressure to get their website launched, but our normal turnaround time for licenses (24 hours) was actually complied to. :-) I am also glad to see that this user is still using Toast Forums on their website.

Great product - and support was fast and efficient    
Written by Anonymous User (#1473-268) from Stockholm, Sweden   (Tuesday, June 24, 2008)
Strengths:   Very easy to setup. Good support. The templates are really easy to edit  
Weaknesses:   HTML Editor is not integrated good enough, but they seem to be working on it.  
Details:   I have been using Toastforums for about a year now, and I believe it's one of the best forums available. I have licensed some other forum scripts as well, but Toast Forums suits me much better. It may not be the most advanced and feature-rich script, but it is so customisable and Hans, the owner of the company, is really trying to help in all ways possible. All in all, I would say thumbs up and thank you for a great product!
Review Based On:   10 Month(s) of usage  

Terrible customer service    
Written by Anonymous User (#1712-244) from Northern California, USA   (Monday, May 05, 2008)
Strengths:   no comment  
Weaknesses:   customer service  
Details:   We installed Toast Forums on our web site and asked our new Product Manager to manage it. Unfortunately, we needed to get our username and password again from Toast Forums because we'd mis-placed it. (Mind you, we had paid the extra fee for the added customer service). There is NO phone contact information to get a hold of someone. We repeatedly inserted requests in the online form. And, after much digging we were able to find an email address and STILL didn't hear back until 1 week later. In addition, they didn't even answer our question or call to help us get our username or password. We are going with another vendor. As well, they noted that the delay was due to the fact that they're located in Denmark. It would seem to me, at this day and age, that even if you're in another country, that you could figure out a way to get back to an email in less time.
Review Based On:   1 Hour(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   I appreciate this feedback, but must correct some important flaws. 1) A response time of 4 days (which is the correct time) is of course not good enough. But we have never ever sold "added customer service". All users, free or paid, will be served on a first-come-first-served basis. This customer has NOT purchased added service, but simply purchased our paid versions. 2) We have never claimed our location to be the reason for the late response. What we do say is, that we do not offer any phone support, since we are working part time from a time zone much different from most of our clients. 3) The information this customer was requesting could be found in our online FAQ if they had chosen to look there. And the password was of course to be found in the users own database - and not in our records.

Quick & Easy    
Written by Justin Mason from Nashville Metro Area   (Wednesday, October 17, 2007)
Writer is with: http://d20.cc
Strengths:   Easy to install, simple to skin/template, easily ported database  
Weaknesses:   A bit expensive for the full version  
Details:   This is a great program, and I have registered, installed and use it for many of my clients. The database structure is sounds and straightforward, so it’s easy to integrate my own applications into the board, as well as integrate the board into my site with just some very simple and quick ASP development. The free version does have Google ads that show up when a message is viewed, which I think is fine for users who don’t want/need to purchase the full version. My only complaint is that the Ad Banners in this version cannot be sized (and if you’re trying to fit the board to a tight place in a site template (i.e. multi-columned website), the banners force the witdh. If you’re looking for something that’s clean, quick, simple and straight forward, yet well made and professional, this is the solution for you. If you’re trying to “wow” your users with bells-and-whistles, then look elsewhere. Toast forums was obviously created to be a message forum application, not some sort of web-portal. Friendly users on the support forum, and reasonably quick responses to questions. I have noticed down-times in support, but it’s a very simple program, and there are enough ASP developers using the package who also respond on the forums, that usually an official response isn’t required.
Review Based On:   36 Month(s) of usage  

Not impressed ..slow    
Written by Anonymous User (#1356-66) from Monterey, CA   (Thursday, September 27, 2007)
Strengths:   It saved the data  
Weaknesses:   very slow response  
Details:   Hmmm. I'm running this on quad processor machines in federation and a SQL cluster I would expect the response time to be in the mili seconds not seconds range. My users will complain. The UI is a little hokie. This can, however, be modified with skins. It's a good start but not quite there for a any type of B2B or B2C or corp. intranet site. I think I'm going to have to write my own because this is one of the better forums available and it just doesn't cut it. Sorry guys.
Review Based On:   using demo only  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   I'm sorry to hear that you've experienced Toast Forums as slow. We have several installations of Toast Forums running hundreds of simultaneous users and thousands of posts without these problems. If you are interested, please contact our support team to see if we can figure out your problem.

Waste of time    
Written by Anonymous User (#1827-254)  (Thursday, June 01, 2006)
Writer is with: http://www.ukpsf.com
Strengths:   asp  
Weaknesses:   not open source, bad support, expensive for what it is  
Details:   It's been a week and i still havn't received a product key, seems like these guys are going under and taking my money with them, very angry.
Review Based On:   7 Day(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   Agree - 7 days for a license key is not acceptable. Toast Forums has changed ownership in 2007, and we strongly believe that the lack of response back in 2006 will never happen again! Toast Forums is not open source, but we don't see this as a weakness. We develop a commercial product with all the benefits this gives, including continous development and the need for us to listen to our users - every single day. We strive to get better and believe we are on the right track! :-)

Toast... Smells good!    
Written by Anonymous User (#1973-291) from Dubai   (Friday, March 17, 2006)
Strengths:   Its too easy, too good, and needs less space  
Weaknesses:   Skins:: you cannot even change the banner of the skin  
Details:   besides, you cant use the and you cant use the <!--#INCLUDE FILE="toast.asp"--> statement in another file because the constants.asp file has "option explicit" statement in line 2, which you cant take out. so that you can make associate it with the rest of your web pages. Now, to the skin part, you cant even change the banner once you've uploaded the skin onto you'r web server. its not that flexible with other webpages. Otherwise, its the best asp forum script i've ever seen.
Review Based On:   using demo only  

"Free" is a bit misleading - not the best BB ...    
Written by Anonymous User (#1442-195) from FL, USA   (Sunday, March 20, 2005)
Strengths:   simple, clean interface  
Weaknesses:   Free version is not open-source  
Details:   Why would you want to allocate your OWN server space and resources to serve Toast Forums built-in Google ads and product promos? There are many free hosted bulletin boards out there that serve the same purpose, and save you costs associated with using your own server space. The board's interface is clean and it looked as though it would be easily customizable - not at all the case with the free version. After downloading and installing, you'll soon realize that the source code is encrypted - so you're unable to tailor it completely to your site without paying first. This information did not seem prominently displayed on the site as I was downloading the "free" version, and so this was a bit misleading in my opinion. There are open-source ASP bulletin board applications which offer more features and are ad-free. I recommend to keep searching for a better app ...
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  




      More Pages:  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7   Next >>  
 
Shopping Cart

Sponsor
 

 

 

 
   
  Link to Us  |  About Us   Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!
Web site monitoring by Web Site Monitor - for Android

2014 InfoVertica, LLC, All Rights Reserved *