You are 1 of 26 Active ASP Visitors
 
 
  ASP Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Share on Facebook Tweet this! Share on Google+ Share on LinkedIn Add to Del.icio.us   Add to StumbleUpon eee
 


 
Resource Menu
 Football Pool  [Demo] Cost: FreeVersion 3.1
16
Reviews
26
Favor-It
An ASP application for running a weekly football pool similar to many office pools. Provides secure access and administrative functions. No components required. Includes a sample database for the 2009 NFL season. Code: ASP 3.0 & VBScript




User Reviews   
   Authentic (3)  Anonymous (13) 




      
Overall Rating:
Codango PHP, ASP .NET, JSP Scripts, Resources, Reviews
Click to Read Reviews
User
Rated
    
Absolutely Love it!    
Written by Anonymous User (#1485-213)  (Tuesday, November 27, 2007)
Writer is with: http://www.afbpools.com
Strengths:   Ease of use,  
Weaknesses:   Lack of a trash talk box  
Details:   I've been using the newest version for a few months now. I absolutely love it. It's so easy to admin and use as a player. I do wish, however that there was a Trash Talk page. I've been working on my asp 'skills' to make one but I'm only getting so far with it. I wouldd like to see a place where people could share their mods. This way when one makes it, we can all see if it would work for us.
Review Based On:   6 Month(s) of usage  

Excellent foundation    
Written by Anonymous User (#1706-293) from Australia   (Saturday, March 25, 2006)
Strengths:   Easily modified. Almost fool-proof. No installation required. A great asp learning / teaching tool.  
Weaknesses:   no comment  
Details:   Going into my second season running footy pools, this application has been much appreciated. I have modified many of its visual aspects, but it's powerful 'engine' is basically untouched. Modifications I have made include - Users get a 'check entries' page that displays their (and no-one elses) picks. Team logos are displayed in the weekly picks table alongside the team name. A gossip page with weekly anecdotes and tips is displayed after users log in. Photos of each weekly winner are displayed in a leaderboard page. Many others that add to the appeal of the application. Users comments include- "You could sell it!" "Well done." "I've forgooten my password." "Finally, a reliable system that doesn't allow cheating." "It's great to be able to submit picks for games later in the season."
Review Based On:   18 Month(s) of usage  

Perfect for me    
Written by Anonymous User (#1412-180) from CA   (Sunday, October 02, 2005)
Strengths:   no comment  
Weaknesses:   no comment  
Details:   I have been running this script for 2 years now. Although I am just learing ASP it works great for me.I would like to try any changes people have made. I have one mod that I could share. It places team logos on the entry form. I am still trying to figure out how to place them on the weekly schedule and results of possible. email cjaime3@sbcglobal.net
Review Based On:   24 Month(s) of usage  

There is no Subsititue    
Written by Damien McKeever from Cherry Hill, NJ   (Saturday, August 06, 2005)
Writer is with: http://www.RamapoCrows.org/FootballPool
Strengths:   Full Schedules, easy to admin and use  
Weaknesses:   Duplicate Code, Schedule Changes, and New Season  
Details:   This will be my third years using this application. Yes Aplication it's more than a script. The ability to make schedule changes when the NFL moves the Game time would be a welcomed feature. Unfortunately I have yet to find a source online each year to get the schedule for import so it takes about a day to scrape the schedule and get it in the database. I'v made several modifications: **Move several common items into separate include files. **Working on moving this to ASP.NET. **Users required Email address. **Added point spreads, can me left at 0 if you don't want to use them. **Added the ability to have some people play for money an others not to. The admin marks the players as paid. **Made several additional options to the Summary pages, also made the table sortable. You can see online at http://www.RamapoCrows.org/FootballPool
Review Based On:   using demo only  

Fixed the hide other players picks    
Written by Michael Twigg from Washington DC   (Thursday, September 02, 2004)
Writer is with: http://members.myactv.net/~twiggmr
Strengths:   Everything works great and the code is easy to modify  
Weaknesses:   All users can see everyones picks, even if the game hasn't started yet.  
Details:   I took the results.asp page and modified it to hide everyone elses picks except the current users until the game has started. If anyone needs this update please email me : twiggm@myactv.net
Review Based On:   7 Day(s) of usage  

This Script Rocks!    
Written by Anonymous User (#1882-223) from Santa Barbara, CA   (Wednesday, September 08, 2004)
Strengths:   Easy to Use, Administer, Yearly Updates..  
Weaknesses:   For price - NONE  
Details:   3rd Year using this script and my and my office mates just love it. We play 20+ users every year and the script makes it easy and enjoyable for everybody! Great work!
Review Based On:   36 Month(s) of usage  

Hide this weeks picks    
Written by Anonymous User (#1202-120) from Miami, FL, USA   (Saturday, June 26, 2004)
Strengths:   Great for managing a pool with many players.  
Weaknesses:   Players are allowed to see what everyone is picking throughout thew week.  
Details:   Wish it would show players picks once the week has been locked out.
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  

Thanks for saving me time    
Written by Anonymous User (#1368-64) from Worcester, MA   (Tuesday, March 16, 2004)
Strengths:   no comment  
Weaknesses:   none yet  
Details:   So far this is the best free app I have. I was trying to learn to creat this on my own and ended up finding this and now my pool is done in the matter of minutes! Works great!
Review Based On:   1 Day(s) of usage  

Simple and elegant    
Written by Anonymous User (#1533-148) from Elmira, NY   (Monday, December 30, 2002)
Strengths:   Team standings, schedule and player results  
Weaknesses:   CSS Formatting  
Details:   Having used this to admin a pool for the past 17 weeks, I have to say that this is fantastic! I have only worked for my present company for about 10 months and when the season started, I found out that the guy I replaced ran the pool in previous years, but on paper, not on our Intranet. I toyes around with creating my own when I came across this little nugget. After a full season of use, it's been perfect, even after I made modifications and additions. The only drawbacks that I've found is the formatting which is quite lacking. I never took the time to redo any of that as it was unnecessary to the functionality, but it is a little annoying. The other thing is that it really should include a "Taunt" section so that players can "trash talk". I added this myself and it's actually been the highlight of the pool! If you want to run a football pool, get this program!
Review Based On:   5 Month(s) of usage  




      More Pages:  1  |  2   Next >>  
 
Shopping Cart

Sponsor
 

 

 

 
   
  Link to Us  |  About Us   Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!
Web site monitoring by Web Site Monitor - for Android

2014 InfoVertica, LLC, All Rights Reserved *