You are 1 of 13 Active ASP Visitors
 
 
  ASP Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Share on Facebook Tweet this! Share on Google+ Share on LinkedIn Add to Del.icio.us   Add to StumbleUpon eee
 


 
Resource Menu
 Snitz Forums 2000  [Demo] Cost: FreeVersion 3.4.07
151
Reviews
44
Favor-It
Message board originally derived from ASP-DEv Support Forums. These forums are completely database driven and fully customizable. Snitz Forums 2000 can work for your organization to boost customer support and provide a medium of communications for anyone! Code: ASP 2.0 & VBScript

Sponsor



User Reviews   
   Authentic (10)  Anonymous (141) 




      
Overall Rating:
Codango PHP, ASP .NET, JSP Scripts, Resources, Reviews
Click to Read Reviews
User
Rated
    
Fantastic, Highly Recommended    
Written by The Zim from Leavittsburg, OH   (Tuesday, April 14, 2009)
Writer is with: http://users5.titanichost.com/zimsgizmos/
Strengths:   Unmatched Support, Room for Customization, Easy-to-Use, FREE  
Weaknesses:   A little too....."default" but read the review!  
Details:   This forum is awesome. That's all there is to it. Not only is it completely free, you can post any problems you come across on their site's forums, and get excellent support and help quickly. Also, they have plenty of room for customization, and provide support for you if you mess anything up (not that you will). The code is easy to learn and modify to whatever you want to have appear. The forum software comes a little "default". In other words, they make it simple and uniform. However, there is unlimited room for changing and modifying the code to suit your needs. They also have another site, snitzbitz.com, that has a very large amount of free MODs for download. Most of which are easy to implement with their own Readmes explaining exactly how to install each MOD. The forums support Access, MySQL, and SQL databases wonderfully and set up the database for you! I would highly recommend this forum software for any kind of use. If you'd like an example of how you can modify it, check mine out: http://users5.titanichost.com/zimsgizmos/forum/
Review Based On:   3 Month(s) of usage  

Features, Support, & Security    
Written by Anonymous User (#1570-313) from South Carolina   (Tuesday, July 15, 2008)
Strengths:   Hundreds of Mods available, Support in Minutes  
Weaknesses:   No comprehensive on/off list of mods.  
Details:   There are over 200 mods available; some requiring no code changes, others requiring more experience. If you choose, you can install package deals with 100 mods built-in. Despite claims that it's not "skinnable" or that there's no support for hexadecimal color choices, Snitz has both. Everything that proponents of other systems claim they like about their choices, Snitz includes: "support for all major databases, including MySQL, MSSQL, and MS Access", "polling", "Code Tags for formatting", "private messages", "color themes", "user groups and permissions systems", "avatars, signatures, profile options", "strong security", and "moderation and administration facilities". How does support compare? Proponents of PHP systems admit "We cannot have custom icons, features cannot be turned on/off, nor added/subtracted without modifying software." "Administration is weak, but if you leave a message, it will sometimes be "answered in a few hours" - but not necessarily by anyone who knows what they're doing. "The development team at phpBB have not added many new features to 2.0.x since it was released. They've appeared only to fix bugs or security problems.." Snitz support (over 26,000 messages) is often provided in under an hour; with free advice (including free custom mods) given until every question and request is satisfied. Security concerns are given top priority and all patches are applied to the software so that new downloads are properly configured before new users get the files.
Review Based On:   84 Month(s) of usage  

Don't do it    
Written by Mark Steven from Edinburgh, UK   (Wednesday, May 21, 2008)
Writer is with: http://www.collectiveid.co.uk
Strengths:   Simple  
Weaknesses:   Poor customization, lame feature set, ugly code, no XHTML / CSS  
Details:   I have implemented Snitz three times now.. I really have to ask myself why am I stuffing this out of date bunch of code into my beautifully coded XHTML / CSS sites... I am now getting many complaints from users who experience errors, find it confusing and generally just hate it. It is almost impossible to skin, and in most cases I'm resorting to hacking its code in order to achieve some basic presentation quality, and pulling it in with i-frames. Ugh. Enough. I'd pay $500 dollars not to see it again.
Review Based On:   24 Month(s) of usage  

GREAT!!    
Written by Troy Burdett from Layton, UT   (Tuesday, March 20, 2007)
Writer is with: http://www.sumrrainbow.com
Strengths:   Very Easy to install, configure & Use.  
Weaknesses:   Haven't found any!  
Details:   The entire forum was up and running in less than 10 minutes. Very powerfull, easy to use, virtually maintenance free for admins. Great product and FREE. I've looked at a lot of forums and this is by far the BEST!!!
Review Based On:   36 Month(s) of usage  

Bad for high traffic websites.    
Written by Anonymous User (#1407-179)  (Monday, February 05, 2007)
Writer is with: http://www.diaperpin.com
Strengths:   Easy to install.  
Weaknesses:   Very slow.  
Details:   I have used this software for at least 5 years at my website. For a small site with little traffic this forum is fine, however with increased popularity of my website, I have encountered more and more bandwith issues. This software is completely database driven which is great for inexperienced user but is a resource drain on the website. If you have a high traffic website, look elsewhere.
Review Based On:   60 Month(s) of usage  

Once good but have now lost the plot.    
Written by Anonymous User (#1531-205) from UK   (Thursday, December 21, 2006)
Strengths:   Easy to install, administration easy (but inflexable), lots of MODs  
Weaknesses:   Can be slow at times, limited functionality,showing it's age.  
Details:   4 years agos Snitz was an ideal forum for me to start with but now it is desperately showing it's age. There have been no major releases in the last 4 years, only minor updates for bux fixes and security patches. Key features that are considered essential in forum software these days (even if you don't use them) such as PM's, polls, avatars, active users, file attachments etc still have to be installed as MODs which is labourious and has to be redone everytime they release a patched version. Some of the lead developers have their head in the sand and will say stuff like "PM's aren't needed in forum software, forums are about open speech" and then include *private* forums in the base code... Anyone see a contrdiction there? With attitudes like that, Snitz is dying a slow agonising death. Even the new .NET version contains very basic functionality and you'll have to wait for all your MODs to be re-written before you can use it. Once one to recommend, now one to avoid.
Review Based On:   48 Month(s) of usage  

meh...    
Written by Anonymous User (#1474-138) from Suffern   (Thursday, January 20, 2005)
Strengths:   simple to use, great community  
Weaknesses:   performance hog, looks ugly, not enough features  
Details:   Bad stuff: 1. A lot of features that you would expect to be built-in still need to be installed via "mods" such as Private Messages, Active Users, Avatars, Polls, etc. 2. The HTML output is unoptimized (lots of vbnewlines and empty spaces that don't really do anything but make the page bigger). From serving the HTML files alone, Snitz will eat up all your bandwidth. 3. As many others have pointed out, the source code is spaghetti. Looking at Snitz code is enough to scare you out of ASP forever. Snitz is poorly commented, and page layout and code are thrown together in one confusing mix. If you're just learning ASP then stay away from this one. 4. Looks really ugly. The design is copied off of the old UBB forums, and after so many years they still haven't redesigned it. You need to do a whole lot of tweaking to get this to look as good as "modern" forums like invision. Good stuff: 1. Installs right out of the box. Unzip, edit the config and you're good to go. 2. The community is second to none. Go there and ask help on anything, even not related to the forum or ASP, and they'll try to help you out. 3. They do their best to keep up with vulnerabilites. They update you via email whenever they find bugs and whatnot.
Review Based On:   18 Month(s) of usage  

Don't pass this up    
Written by Anonymous User (#1689-267) from Lawrence, KS   (Thursday, November 04, 2004)
Strengths:   Easily customizable; Great support; Tons of features  
Weaknesses:   None that I know of  
Details:   I've been running a Snitz on my group's website for nearly a year now, and I must say that it is a phenomenal piece of software. I started out knowing only HTML, but have learned quite a bit of ASP simply from perusing the code. The Dev Team at the Snitz website is a great group of people who are very eager to help with bug reports, MOD implementation, and generally any questions you may have about just about anything. This is, hands down, one of the best pieces of software I've ever gotten the opportunity to use.
Review Based On:   10 Month(s) of usage  

Solid and Customisable    
Written by James P Grant from Glasgow, Scotland   (Friday, September 17, 2004)
Writer is with: http://www.jein.co.uk/forum/default.asp
Strengths:   Easily Modified and Customised.  
Weaknesses:   Lack of ASP Hosts.  
Details:   I have run a busy forum for a games clan for about a year, and found Snitz to be an excellent utility for this. The Mods are simple and straightforward to implement, and the forums are stable. I've never had any problems apart from looking for a suitable host in the first place.
Review Based On:   14 Month(s) of usage  




      More Pages:  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7   Next >>  
 
Shopping Cart

Sponsor
 

 

 

 
   
  Link to Us  |  About Us   Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!
Web site monitoring by Web Site Monitor - for Android

2014 InfoVertica, LLC, All Rights Reserved *