You are 1 of 13 Active ASP Visitors
 
 
  ASP Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Share on Facebook Tweet this! Share on Google+ Share on LinkedIn Add to Del.icio.us   Add to StumbleUpon eee
 


 
Resource Menu
 VP-ASP Cost: Free/$245/$375/$495 USDVersion 7.0
93
Reviews
24
Favor-It
Take advantage of our FREE VP-ASP Starter Pac, one of the most advanced shopping cart packages in the world. It has more features than most of its competitors, is FREE and is easy to use! Download NOW and start selling online! Code: ASP 3.0 & VBScript




User Reviews   
 Summary  Authentic (17)   




      
Overall Rating:
Codango PHP, ASP .NET, JSP Scripts, Resources, Reviews
Click to Read Reviews
User
Rated
    
Very happy with this shopping cart    
Written by Anonymous User (#1470-137) from Christchurch   (Sunday, July 07, 2013)
Strengths:   Packed with features, free support, easy to use.  
Weaknesses:   Could have more templates.  
Details:   I have been using VPASP since 2007 and have always been happy with their software. I recently moved away from the open source software and switched to their new hosted solution which is ridiculously good value for money when you compare it to the other hosted solutions out there. (I did flirt with the idea of switching to another vendor all together but found VPASP offers more for the money). The feature list is almost endless, my only gripe would be that the templates they have available could be better however I asked them about this and they said they will be releasing more templates with Version 8 later this year. I think if they get some realy nice templates this cart will be up there with the best available.
Review Based On:   62 Month(s) of usage  

Worthless    
Written by Anonymous User (#1639-230)  (Thursday, August 12, 2010)
Strengths:   none, its coded in vb and it executes fast.  
Weaknesses:   Many. Inadequate DB Design. Cumbersome code. Awful integration features, awful data migration.  
Details:   I am a senior software engineer that was hired to migrate a VPASP based commerce site to MS. Commerce Server 2009. Upon reviewing the data from the VP.ASP database, I found the following errors: the plugins that process shipping and payments save their data as html in the 'oshipmethodtype' and 'oauthorization' fields of the orders table. The html in the 'oauthorization' field includes the transaction number, and approval number. WTF? The product to category, and category to category relationships in SQL suck and are tough to descipher. Oh, last but not lest. I found many repeated user profiles only because the db design sucks. The PK for profiles should be email address, a composite PK consisting of email address, username, and something else.
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  

Its not as good as it was before version 6.5    
Written by Anonymous User (#1411-226) from Brussel Belgium   (Saturday, May 29, 2010)
Strengths:   Many Features older version 6.5 almost trouble free running  
Weaknesses:   new version 7.0 many bugs  
Details:   New version 7.0 bugs bugs and more bugs http://helpnotes.vpasp.com/shopexd.asp?id=958 And thats just tip of the iceberg take a look at there forum......... It looks verry nice SEO is good translation can be changed features are great never seen so manny and for that price. But you have to deal with bugs it will take a lot of time. I have the feeling its just not ready now and keep with the old version although a paid for teh new one To be honest support is still good
Review Based On:   28 Month(s) of usage  

Really awesome flexibility    
Written by Anonymous User (#1517-109) from Canada   (Tuesday, February 24, 2009)
Strengths:   Easy to customise, easy to integrate with other systems, templates  
Weaknesses:   Takes a while to learn the features  
Details:   I’ve been an ASP guy since the beginning and I’ve sampled a lot of carts both in classic ASP and .NET. So far VP-ASP seems to be pretty much the best overall for any ASP based cart... They’ve also been really awesome with support so I thought I’d take the time post a thank you here :) As a developer I need flexibility to meet my client’s various and often changing whims :). This is where this cart stands out for me. From a front side perspective I’ve got buckets of options when it comes to the design whether that’s a ground up build or integrating it into an existing site (I do lots of both). From a back end perspective the data base structure is really easy to work with. You can easily set up connections with other data sources which, let’s face it, most serious ecommerce ventures need to do at some stage. My advice to those thinking about using VP-ASP is to spend some time understanding what it can do. It can be a little overwhelming at first simply because it’s so flexible – in the end though this is what you’ll love about it. Yeah so anyway to the support guys at VP-ASP just a thank you from me for being so helpful lately!
Review Based On:   30 Month(s) of usage  

Nickel and dime you to death!    
Written by Anonymous User (#1587-308) from NC   (Wednesday, October 15, 2008)
Strengths:   none  
Weaknesses:   ongoing prices  
Details:   First this company is misleading in the business practice -- so much so I filed a complaint with the BBB. They advertise no ongoing fees, but yet charge you a extended license fee every year. They advertise payment gateways, but then charge you because the payment gateways don't work. Here is the support ticket I received from VPASP regarding my payment gateway: While we are not a preferred provider we do however have a number of customers using this interface. It is not a simple set up and does require some technical ability. So it does work but it is hard to get set up. We had to quote 2 of the customers using this to have us install for them so it may be higher than just the upgrade fee as well if you cannot get it working yourself. The install cost is US$270.00 on top of the upgrade fee. Thank you. Regards, Cam Flanigan Additionally here are some flaws in there shopping cart system: 1. SQL Injection - The cart is prone to sql injection. I know because my website was attacked. I had to make all kinds of modifications in there code. 2. SEO Marketing - The cart is not very seo friendly. It doesn't make keyword, title or description tags well at all for the product pages. I had to change alot of coding to make this work. 3. Support - I needed one simple payment processing script, which was on there website, and they wouldn't give it to me, because I was outside of my 'support window' meaning I didn't give them another $300 per year for the ongoing support. Nickel and Dime!!!!!
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  

A Shocker    
Written by Anonymous User (#1803-199) from NSW Australia   (Thursday, February 14, 2008)
Strengths:   Comes with the Code for theorhetical Easy Modification  
Weaknesses:   Bad Company support. Very dogmatic and unfriendly to deal with.  
Details:   I purchased the product being a developer simply because I didn't want to buid a shopping cart. So you get the source. Well yeah. To make the cart look professional you really need to overhaul all the screens displayed and the Graphics. The customer registration process sucks and looks tinny. Hacker exploit announcements are a daily affair. The list goes on. I finally got it looking good but the customer registration screen still sucked. Then having to reverse engineer the code to do simple things. Then there was the constant stuffing up of the admin area and having to login again yada yada. I am a professional web developer and have resorted to writing my own now. Sure these tin pot systems are all out there a dime a dozen hiding everything from the user for easy shop building but at the end of the day the technology is outdated and still a tinpot solution. Not worth the money total rip off. Maybe $50 Aus tops.
Review Based On:   12 Month(s) of usage  

Solid ASP, poor current industry features    
Written by Anonymous User (#1213-134) from San Jose, CA   (Tuesday, May 29, 2007)
Strengths:   Lots of customization, news feeds are intellegent  
Weaknesses:   Poor integration with current advanced standards like .NET, VB.NET which Authorize.net can require  
Details:   Store stated that it supported "VP-ASP Recurring Billing". However, Authorize.net requires VB.NET code for recurring billing, a feature not supported by VPASP, nor have they ever done up to this point. Online chat with a support tech was good, but he didn't know if it was supported at first. None of the manuals state that it is not supported also, I read them all. After trying to make it work for months, we finally found out it was never supported, now the 30-day refund policy has passed and we're stuck with a store we can't use. Unfortunately, we weren't informed of that for 4 months after the sale. I am still working with them to resolve the lack of documentation and our heartfelt and honest attempt at a refund. Pending this outcome, I may upgrade my rating of them.
Review Based On:   5 Month(s) of usage  
Rebuttal From Listing Owner:   Hi there, VPASP is actually written in .ASP and not .NET. We actually offered to develop the Authorize Net Recurring Billing module for this customer for free although as he stated we do not list anywhere on our that we do support it. Listing what we do support is probably a more logical approach and on our site we advertise our own Recurring Billing module. We attempted to resolve this issue with this customer however they would not respond to our emails. VP-ASP is a very powerful shopping cart with a wide range of features and functions. As it is an open source solution it can also be modified to suit almost any business requirement if the default code does not meet your needs. Thank you Cam Flanigan

Terrible Look Lots of Bugs and Appauling Code    
Written by Anonymous User (#1766-213) from Brisbane   (Saturday, October 28, 2006)
Strengths:   Features  
Weaknesses:   Look, Customization, Code  
Details:   I've been tasked with customizing VPASP to get a half decent look and boy oh boy, I don't even know where to start. The code is EXTREMELY BAD. If i had coders like that on my team they'd be fired on the spot after the first warning. There are so many bugs it's not funny. It looks good until you actually start truly trying to use this thing. This cart is just one big hack. If you want an amateur looking website that nobody is going to buy anything from, then this is probably not a bad solution, but if you want your website to look appealing then look elsewhere. These guys have clearly not heard of coding standards or readable code. On top of all this ASP is now outdated technology and given how badly this cart is put together i wouldn't touch it with a 10 foot pole. Save some money and get something like AspDotNetStorefront. DO NOT BUY THIS CART if you value your time and money. You really need to see past the sales pitch here.
Review Based On:   3 Month(s) of usage  

Highly Customisable and great support    
Written by Anonymous User (#1488-134) from Mebourne, Australia   (Saturday, February 05, 2005)
Strengths:   Excellent support, open source, highly functional, very simple to get set up  
Weaknesses:   Very ugly design although you can easily add your own instead, help notes need work  
Details:   After using VPASP for 3+ years we have found that the only real issues is the difficulty in locating some features in the code (once we changed the design). Security is dealt with as soon as an issue is raised, very helpful customer forum and support is very fast in their answers. The help notes could also probably do with a bit of work but they have been improving with each new release.
Review Based On:   36 Month(s) of usage  




      More Pages:  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7   Next >>  
 
Shopping Cart

Sponsor
 

 

 

 
   
  Link to Us  |  About Us   Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!
Web site monitoring by Web Site Monitor - for Android

2014 InfoVertica, LLC, All Rights Reserved *