You are 1 of 20 Active ASP Visitors
 
 
  ASP Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Add to Del.icio.us  Add to StumbleUpon
 


 
Resource Menu
 Brinkster   
118
Reviews
1
Favor-It
Brinkster has been an industry leader in free web hosting since 1999 and now we have done it again. Whether you’re a homemaker, a small business owner or a savvy developer you can have a free website! Sign up today, it’s free!




User Reviews   
   Authentic (8)  Anonymous (110) 




      
Overall Rating:
Codango PHP, ASP .NET, JSP Scripts, Resources, Reviews
Click to Read Reviews
User
Rated
    
email is down a lot    
Written by Anonymous User (#1565-122) from san antonio,tx   (Monday, May 16, 2005)
Strengths:   asp.net php mysql access  
Weaknesses:   email servers always are down, second dns is down  
Details:   host only your web applications
Review Based On:   2 Month(s) of usage  

Good hosting but you won't be receiving e-mails!    
Written by Anonymous User (#1339-53) from London, England   (Monday, May 09, 2005)
Strengths:   Lots of ASP options and components  
Weaknesses:   Extremely unreliable e-mail. Keep it hosted elsewhere!  
Details:   Brinkster's e-mail service has been down for all users since the 7th of May (it is now mid-day on May 9th). That's 2 and a half days where none of their customers can verifiably get e-mails... Check these forums on Brinkster's own site to see more about the problem... http://forums.brinkster.com/forummessage.asp?id=110311&Forum=1 Host your site here but don't depend on brinkster to give you e-mail...
Review Based On:   36 Month(s) of usage  

Overall: Satisfied with Paid version    
Written by Anonymous User (#1381-199) from Washington, DC   (Sunday, May 08, 2005)
Strengths:   Works for me, good performance  
Weaknesses:   Email server is down a lot, or slow  
Details:   I pay under $7 a month for Brinkster. It works great for me (http://www.desichutney.com), as I run ASP against MS Access. My entire website content is database-driven. I could go with SQL Server, but right now, my website works well with Access, so I don't have a compelling reason to upgrade. It is also easier to make changes to my website on my home PC, then upload the MDB file. I need to write some Web GUIs to update my website. Then I won't have to upload my MDB anymore. I can just make the updates using the Web GUI, and download my MDB to keep my local copy current. My main problem is with the Email server. As I write this, my email account is inaccessible via their web interface. A lot of the time, their web interface for email is very slow or not responding.
Review Based On:   14 Month(s) of usage  

The best free service    
Written by Anonymous User (#1449-244) from Türkiye   (Monday, May 02, 2005)
Strengths:   Easy to use  
Weaknesses:   15 mb is not enough  
Details:   The best free service i have ever seen.What do you want for free? Huge banners on the top of page? It's working very well with access! For free asp hosting brinkster is the best solution.
Review Based On:   4 Month(s) of usage  

the worst    
Written by Anonymous User (#1308-112) from Costa Mesa, CA   (Friday, January 28, 2005)
Strengths:   live chat with support  
Weaknesses:   constantly down  
Details:   I am a current paying brinkster customer, I've been using the service for about 9 months now. From the day I started using brinkster I had problems with either the servers being down or the mySQL database being down. Support never has an ETA on fixes, it will get fixed when it's fixed. I highly recommend not using this service, when my 1 year subscription is sup I'm out of there. It has been a HUGE strain on my business.
Review Based On:   9 Month(s) of usage  

Gone    
Written by Anonymous User (#1558-161) from Maanchester, UK   (Wednesday, May 26, 2004)
Strengths:   none  
Weaknesses:   Not free anymore  
Details:   Tried to find the link to the free hosting and it's gone. The updated interface uses asp.net and all links are to paid services
Review Based On:   27 Month(s) of usage  

Not the best around    
Written by Anonymous User (#1674-229) from Asia   (Wednesday, December 03, 2003)
Strengths:   good features  
Weaknesses:   banner. Customer support  
Details:   my site vanished and nobody replied to all my mails. i cant even login. contacted support several times and no reply. banner included in the free version now. looks too big and effects yr sites design.
Review Based On:   8 Month(s) of usage  

Junk    
Written by Chris Mann from Ohio   (Thursday, October 23, 2003)
Writer is with: http://www.bargainbaseballcards.com
Strengths:   There are none  
Weaknesses:   Everything.  
Details:   I actually used the paying version of Brinkster, which makes this even worse. There servers where down at least 20% of the time.. Again, on the paying version, imagine how bad it is on the free version. If I could get their 'technical support' to respond (half of the time my questions went unanswered) they would make things up. (ask the question on different days to different people and get completely different answers.) Overall it was just a huge burden on my company. My recommendation is to find a reliable host, for $10 a month it should be worth it.
Review Based On:   15 Month(s) of usage  

Good, but could be better    
Written by Anonymous User (#1373-80) from Ireland   (Tuesday, April 29, 2003)
Strengths:   Its free, no banners  
Weaknesses:   server seems to be down a lot  
Details:   on the whole its a pretty good service. ive been with them for a year now and the free account is v good if you just wanna test your asp or asp.net code. the only problem with brinkster-and it is a big problem- is that the server seems to go down pretty regulary.
Review Based On:   12 Month(s) of usage  




  << Previous  More Pages:  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7   Next >>  
 
Shopping Cart

Sponsor
 

 

 

 
  
  Link to Us  |  About Us Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!

2014 ezd.com, All rights reserved
 

Google Analytics Alternative