You are 1 of 9 Active ASP Visitors
 
 
  ASP Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Add to Del.icio.us  Add to StumbleUpon
 


 
Resource Menu
 Brinkster   
118
Reviews
1
Favor-It
Brinkster has been an industry leader in free web hosting since 1999 and now we have done it again. Whether you’re a homemaker, a small business owner or a savvy developer you can have a free website! Sign up today, it’s free!




User Reviews   
 Summary    Anonymous (110) 




      
Overall Rating:
Codango PHP, ASP .NET, JSP Scripts, Resources, Reviews
Click to Read Reviews
User
Rated
    
Don't bother    
Written by George M from Europe   (Thursday, August 30, 2007)
Writer is with: http://www.buyphotogallery.com/
Strengths:   None  
Weaknesses:   Too many  
Details:   Mail is extremely unreliable. Technical support is horrible and rude. Terms of service are too restrictive on content. CDO mail does not work.
Review Based On:   20 Month(s) of usage  

If you love your time, DON'T CONSIDER IT    
Written by Kashif Khan from Bangkok, Thailand   (Sunday, August 26, 2007)
Writer is with: http://www.mybangkok.net
Strengths:   It would be OK just for simple HTML sites  
Weaknesses:   Too much downtime specially for dynamic sites.  
Details:   After loosing my patience I have decided to speak about the performance of Brinkster services. After of all, it is my HONEST ADVICE that NEVER THINK ABOUT BRINKSTER FOR HOSTING. It is totally unreliable and its support doesn’t tell you right thing. I have been using it for the last 2-3 years and it was OK at the start but it has been terrible since last 7-8 months. I am getting complaints from people whom I referred to use Brinkster. Its server remains down most of the time and they don’t care about it. Yesterday, it was down and luckily I get contacted with one of its support person. Upon my complaint, that support person answered that I should have upgraded my hosting package from shared to the dedicated one then I would not have any problem. That support person admitted him/herself that Brinkster had problems with its share hosting packages. I also have written to the sales and marketing team of Brinkster to stop selling shared packages and don’t waste customers’ time. I hope you love your time and money and would not consider this trash for any sort of service. I am also looking for some good hosting service and I would move my sites from Brinkster very soon.
Review Based On:   24 Month(s) of usage  

Paid hosting not good    
Written by Jamie Field from UK   (Tuesday, February 06, 2007)
Writer is with: http://www.lambdapower.co.uk
Strengths:   Okay when it's working  
Weaknesses:   Email, SQL, server, all flaky  
Details:   The new email system they are introducing without even asking me if I wanted to upgrade has now been not working for four days now. No mail in, no mail out. They claimed to be upgrading the Webmail (which I never use) but it's affected the main mail server too. MySQL DB seems to trip up quite often, although i will admit this situation has got better since Nov 2006. 99.9% uptime is an untrue claim. Customer service normally okay, although live one-on-one chat not functioning anymore. Customer service slow at times like these though when it's really important. I'd move but better the devil you know I guess
Review Based On:   24 Month(s) of usage  

Horrible TOS    
Written by Roderik Emmerink from Gieten, Netherlands   (Sunday, October 29, 2006)
Writer is with: http://www.roderik.net/
Strengths:   The free account was free and therefore cheap  
Weaknesses:   Horrible TOS, change of packages, statistics dead  
Details:   I've been with brinkster for several years, started with a free package. Since my bandwidth usage was too much quite often I upgraded to the paid personal package. The bandwidth statistics never worked in the admin section, they didnt fix it after complaining about that. Later they were changing packages in June 2006. My package would no longer be available. I could not upgrade since then the url would change and I rely on my incoming links and I could not downgrade to personal since it has too less bandwidth. For the URL issue, which was the most important, I said it should degrade to personal again for holding urls. But it is now october and the personal package seems to be still running and I am still paying for it (although it shouldnt be available). But so far the small annoyances, the bigger is their terms of service. I have some users on my website which have posted their image, which is not hosted by brinkster, on my page. The image contains some nudity (where nudity is still quite descent, no genitals e.g.), therefore I moved the whole page to another hosting company and linked it in the menu. Then there was no nudity on their pages, but now it seems that I may not have hyperlinks to remote sites that are not complying with their TOS. Theoretically this would even mean you may not have hyperlinks to Google.com, because even Google.com is not complying with their strict TOS. They can have hyperlinks (when searching or using directory of Google) to partly nude content. No nudity on their accounts is something I can understand, although it seems to be far too strict to me, but the demands on the hyperlinked remote content are far too extreme in my opinion. The only reason that I stayed so far is thatI make money by the visitor which link to that brinkster url. But it is a huge effort to stay in line with their TOS. Therefore, be free, no brinkster!
Review Based On:   40 Month(s) of usage  

Best Free hosting    
Written by Tom Stehouwer from Michigan USA   (Tuesday, April 25, 2006)
Writer is with: http://www40.brinkster.com/brinksterreview/
Strengths:   always works, smooth running, no ads on free hosting  
Weaknesses:   overpriced for paid packages  
Details:   I have alot of experiance with paid web hosting services and free hosting services. Brinkster has been the best free web hosting site i have ever used. As far as their paid services, they seem to be over priced for the services they offer. Brinkster is known for their tech support. so maybe thats the cause of their packages not offering a whole lot.
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  

Good free hosting    
Written by John Boers from Amersfoort - The netherlands   (Friday, September 16, 2005)
Writer is with: http://www14.brinkster.com/digidodo/
Strengths:   support of ASP and ASP.NET and it's free  
Weaknesses:   no FTP-support  
Details:   I use the free service since the year 2000 and is has never let me down. Of course you cannot ask to much from a free service but it got me started very well with ASP.
Review Based On:   60 Month(s) of usage  

Junk    
Written by Chris Mann from Ohio   (Thursday, October 23, 2003)
Writer is with: http://www.bargainbaseballcards.com
Strengths:   There are none  
Weaknesses:   Everything.  
Details:   I actually used the paying version of Brinkster, which makes this even worse. There servers where down at least 20% of the time.. Again, on the paying version, imagine how bad it is on the free version. If I could get their 'technical support' to respond (half of the time my questions went unanswered) they would make things up. (ask the question on different days to different people and get completely different answers.) Overall it was just a huge burden on my company. My recommendation is to find a reliable host, for $10 a month it should be worth it.
Review Based On:   15 Month(s) of usage  

It's an Ok provider    
Written by Majin Niels from Holland   (Monday, March 17, 2003)
Writer is with: http://www21.brinkster.com/majinniels
Strengths:   No banners at all  
Weaknesses:   Speed  
Details:   im using an free brinkster account and its fine with me. Im creating the Asp pages in MM Dreamweaver UD 4 and everything works fine. Created ones the database connections and im using it all the time only updating the pages. Sometimes the servers aren't responding are timing out, but MM_DW_UD is not creating the best quality of asp so that could be the problem. I started to update/reengineer the pages to asp.net to check if performance will increase.
Review Based On:   24 Month(s) of usage  



 
Shopping Cart

Sponsor
 

 

 

 
  
  Link to Us  |  About Us Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!

2014 ezd.com, All rights reserved
 

Google Analytics Alternative