You are 1 of 17 Active ASP Visitors
 
 
  ASP Home  |  Resources  |  Write a Review  |  My Favor-Its  |  Login
Share on Facebook Tweet this! Share on Google+ Share on LinkedIn Add to Del.icio.us   Add to StumbleUpon eee
 


 
Resource Menu
 Brinkster   
118
Reviews
1
Favor-It
Brinkster has been an industry leader in free web hosting since 1999 and now we have done it again. Whether you’re a homemaker, a small business owner or a savvy developer you can have a free website! Sign up today, it’s free!




User Reviews   
   Authentic (8)  Anonymous (110) 




      
Overall Rating:
Codango PHP, ASP .NET, JSP Scripts, Resources, Reviews
Click to Read Reviews
User
Rated
    
Don't bother    
Written by George M from Europe   (Thursday, August 30, 2007)
Writer is with: http://www.buyphotogallery.com/
Strengths:   None  
Weaknesses:   Too many  
Details:   Mail is extremely unreliable. Technical support is horrible and rude. Terms of service are too restrictive on content. CDO mail does not work.
Review Based On:   20 Month(s) of usage  

If you love your time, DON'T CONSIDER IT    
Written by Kashif Khan from Bangkok, Thailand   (Sunday, August 26, 2007)
Writer is with: http://www.mybangkok.net
Strengths:   It would be OK just for simple HTML sites  
Weaknesses:   Too much downtime specially for dynamic sites.  
Details:   After loosing my patience I have decided to speak about the performance of Brinkster services. After of all, it is my HONEST ADVICE that NEVER THINK ABOUT BRINKSTER FOR HOSTING. It is totally unreliable and its support doesn’t tell you right thing. I have been using it for the last 2-3 years and it was OK at the start but it has been terrible since last 7-8 months. I am getting complaints from people whom I referred to use Brinkster. Its server remains down most of the time and they don’t care about it. Yesterday, it was down and luckily I get contacted with one of its support person. Upon my complaint, that support person answered that I should have upgraded my hosting package from shared to the dedicated one then I would not have any problem. That support person admitted him/herself that Brinkster had problems with its share hosting packages. I also have written to the sales and marketing team of Brinkster to stop selling shared packages and don’t waste customers’ time. I hope you love your time and money and would not consider this trash for any sort of service. I am also looking for some good hosting service and I would move my sites from Brinkster very soon.
Review Based On:   24 Month(s) of usage  

Paid hosting not good    
Written by Anonymous User (#1717-304)  (Tuesday, February 06, 2007)
Writer is with: http://www.lambdapower.co.uk
Strengths:   Okay when it's working  
Weaknesses:   Email, SQL, server, all flaky  
Details:   The new email system they are introducing without even asking me if I wanted to upgrade has now been not working for four days now. No mail in, no mail out. They claimed to be upgrading the Webmail (which I never use) but it's affected the main mail server too. MySQL DB seems to trip up quite often, although i will admit this situation has got better since Nov 2006. 99.9% uptime is an untrue claim. Customer service normally okay, although live one-on-one chat not functioning anymore. Customer service slow at times like these though when it's really important. I'd move but better the devil you know I guess
Review Based On:   24 Month(s) of usage  

Horrible TOS    
Written by Roderik Emmerink from Gieten, Netherlands   (Sunday, October 29, 2006)
Writer is with: http://www.roderik.net/
Strengths:   The free account was free and therefore cheap  
Weaknesses:   Horrible TOS, change of packages, statistics dead  
Details:   I've been with brinkster for several years, started with a free package. Since my bandwidth usage was too much quite often I upgraded to the paid personal package. The bandwidth statistics never worked in the admin section, they didnt fix it after complaining about that. Later they were changing packages in June 2006. My package would no longer be available. I could not upgrade since then the url would change and I rely on my incoming links and I could not downgrade to personal since it has too less bandwidth. For the URL issue, which was the most important, I said it should degrade to personal again for holding urls. But it is now october and the personal package seems to be still running and I am still paying for it (although it shouldnt be available). But so far the small annoyances, the bigger is their terms of service. I have some users on my website which have posted their image, which is not hosted by brinkster, on my page. The image contains some nudity (where nudity is still quite descent, no genitals e.g.), therefore I moved the whole page to another hosting company and linked it in the menu. Then there was no nudity on their pages, but now it seems that I may not have hyperlinks to remote sites that are not complying with their TOS. Theoretically this would even mean you may not have hyperlinks to Google.com, because even Google.com is not complying with their strict TOS. They can have hyperlinks (when searching or using directory of Google) to partly nude content. No nudity on their accounts is something I can understand, although it seems to be far too strict to me, but the demands on the hyperlinked remote content are far too extreme in my opinion. The only reason that I stayed so far is thatI make money by the visitor which link to that brinkster url. But it is a huge effort to stay in line with their TOS. Therefore, be free, no brinkster!
Review Based On:   40 Month(s) of usage  

Best Free hosting    
Written by Anonymous User (#1130-63)  (Tuesday, April 25, 2006)
Writer is with: http://www40.brinkster.com/brinksterreview/
Strengths:   always works, smooth running, no ads on free hosting  
Weaknesses:   overpriced for paid packages  
Details:   I have alot of experiance with paid web hosting services and free hosting services. Brinkster has been the best free web hosting site i have ever used. As far as their paid services, they seem to be over priced for the services they offer. Brinkster is known for their tech support. so maybe thats the cause of their packages not offering a whole lot.
Review Based On:   1 Month(s) of usage  

Deleted and corrupt directories, Hours of Downtime    
Written by Anonymous User (#1385-210)  (Sunday, December 04, 2005)
Strengths:   Cheap, but now we see that you get what you pay for.  
Weaknesses:   downtime hours at a time, directories were deleted,  
Details:   The reason we are so upset is because our site is an e-commerce site. When we finally get visitors to our site, our goal is to get them to our online store. We have paid service with Brinkster. Right now, our site has been down for over 4 hours. This started maybe a month ago when I noticed that I had worked on a particular file one night. The next morning, I started to continue to work on it, but I noticed that none of the work from the previous night was there. It had reverted back. I remembered that something like this had happened a few nights ago, but I thought I messed something up. But, this time, I specifically remember working on and saving this file. So, I contacted Brinkster and they made it seem like it was our fault. They told me that if someone has our password they can delete it, but "Brinkster does not delete files." I specifically remember reading something from one of their admnins in their support section saying that they WILL delete files without notice if they're against tos, audio files, etc. The latest two-yes, two-incidents have really annoyed us. Yesterday, most of the files in our store were corrupted because of a "hardware malfunction" according to one of their guys. I managaged to upload all of our files again. This morning I get back to work and the content of most of the same files have been deleted. Just when you think Brinkster can't mess things up even more for us, we can't reupload our files to fix their mistake. Why? Because their ftp service is unavailable. I finally got an answer from someone who said that ftp would be available within 90 minutes. Well, that was over 16 hours ago. Still no ftp. Don't go to Brinkster. They mess up your site and half of their representatives will deny that it was their fault and try to pin their incompetence on your employees.
Review Based On:   using demo only  

Good free hosting    
Written by John Boers from Amersfoort - The netherlands   (Friday, September 16, 2005)
Writer is with: http://www14.brinkster.com/digidodo/
Strengths:   support of ASP and ASP.NET and it's free  
Weaknesses:   no FTP-support  
Details:   I use the free service since the year 2000 and is has never let me down. Of course you cannot ask to much from a free service but it got me started very well with ASP.
Review Based On:   60 Month(s) of usage  

Problems!    
Written by Anonymous User (#1776-172)  (Friday, August 05, 2005)
Writer is with: **Removed by ASPIN admin for content**
Strengths:   Ran great for 2 years then major problems  
Weaknesses:   Tech Support and Server Downtime  
Details:   Well here it is almost 12 days since my problems began and finally my site is up and running, for past 24 hrs anyways. It took countless chats with their tech support ( not much help at all there! ) and after 12 days they still won't admit they were having problems. Their servers have a hard time running correctly with ASP and had to change all non essential pages from ASP to HTML to get it to run properly. It is still too early to tell if this is a permanent fix but for the moment it appears to have worked.
Review Based On:   using demo only  

Email is terrible, support is marginal    
Written by Anonymous User (#1477-237) from San Diego   (Thursday, July 14, 2005)
Strengths:   Good ASP.NET functionality, script library  
Weaknesses:   Email is up an down like the wind...  
Details:   Nice library of code snippets and asp/asp.net objects. Email was never stable maybe 80% uptime. Support people are belligerent and not very knowledgable, including the VP of Operations, Paul Murdock. I gave them 5 months to resolve their constant routing and Email server problems they could never get it fixed correctly. I finally had to switch services.
Review Based On:   7 Month(s) of usage  




      More Pages:  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7   Next >>  
 
Sponsor
Sponsor
 

 

 

 
  
  Link to Us  |  About Us Advertise  |  Contact Us  |  Website Help  
Write a User Review Today!
Its Fun, Fast, and Easy!
Web site monitoring by Web Site Monitor - for Android

2014 InfoVertica, LLC, All Rights Reserved *